Online Extravaganza — and camouflage

header_OnlineX_Demo_11.23.15_ENG

First, it’s not too late to take part in the Online Extravaganza! Sorry!

It started today, and there are Doorbusters for today only: Select Designer Series Paper packs are Buy 3, Get 1 Free. Available until 11:59pm Mountain Time, so hurry!

There are items at 20% to 50% off for the whole week, ending Monday November 30.

Finally there are Doorbuster bundles available on Monday November 30 only.

You can see them all at the online store or on this handy PDF.

To get you in the mood, I want to show you some projects I created when I had played with the Timeless Elegance designer series paper pack a while back (yes, I’m behind in posting projects). A few of the patterns are pretty: roses that look AWESOME if you sponge in some color. Then, there’s a floral border pattern that Lyssa Zwolanek showed how to color (with markers) during Convention. But, left behind are some patterns that, frankly, I thought was hideous. Such as this one.

StampinUpTimelessElegance

I can’t remember where I saw the idea I’m about to show you, probably at Convention as well. Or online. In any case, I call it “camouflage of designer series paper”. If you cover up paper with vellum, it mutes the pattern and colors underneath. And, if you use a pretty shape and die cuts, it looks even cooler!

I did them in two different color schemes, just to try them out.

Perfect Plum coloring of the floral border, with Blackberry Bliss stamping and Very Vanilla seam binding (oops, sorry retired color for this ribbon, but we do have Whisper White).

ButterflyPlum

Blushing Bride coloring of the floral border, with Watermelon Wonder stamping and Pink Pirouette seam binding (part of the Online Extravaganza, too!).

ButterflyPirouette

My husband said he liked the first one, but I like the second.

Here is a closeup of the butterfly. You can barely recognize the pattern of the designer series paper. I also tried to position the die cut so that the scallops of the lace pattern line up a bit with the curves of the butterfly.

ButterflyCloseup

I even made a thick baker’s twine version of the Perfect Plum card. My husband didn’t care for it either. I suppose the seam binding is softer, but I like the “naturalness” of the twine.

ButterflyPlumAlt

Leave a Reply

