The Dangers of Websurfing

I’m sure you’re familiar with the danger of browsing the web for crafting ideas — you find a card made with a stamp set you weren’t planning to buy. But, now you want it. It happens to me constantly, and I try to resist.

I’m not sure if I’m always successful.

It’s funny, because I’m not sure exactly which card I saw that pushed me over the edge to get the stamp set I used on today’s card. Perhaps it was a combination of Mary Fish and her use of a white gel pen, combined with Dawn Griffith and her sponging of color.

To compound the matter, the stamp set coordinates with the Leaflets framelits, which can also be purchased as a bundle with another coordinating stamp set (Vintage Leaves from the Annual catalog). So, you know that projects with these items will show up here eventually, right? 🙂

Mojo417Leaves

Stamp set: Lighthearted Leaves (Holiday catalog)

Ink: Hello Honey, Tangelo Twist, Cajun Craze, Archival Basic Black

Paper: Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze, Hello Honey

Accessories: 2″ circle punch, Linen thread, Signo white gel pen, Stampin’ dimensionals, Sponge daubers

I started with Mojo Monday sketch 417. This time, I left off the set of three items. I forgot at first, and then decided that it wasn’t needed on this card. I used a backing panel of Cajun Craze behind the stamped panel to balance the card instead. The stamped panel has a bit of Cajun Craze sponged on the edges so it doesn’t get lost in the background.

I used a white gel pen on the circles in between the leaves. I love how the little bit of white makes the image just pop. Don’t believe me? Here’s another set of leaves that I colored (pardon the stray crease marks).

LeavesWithoutWhite

Leave a Reply

