August Project

I’m back with a project to kick off the month of August.

After much whirlwind activity surrounding and at Convention, I sat down and finally created a card for which I have had ideas about for some time. It took Mojo Monday sketch 408 to get it all together. I did take the liberty of using a regular A2 card, instead of the Tall & Skinny format for the sketch.

Mojo408Butterflies

Stamp set: Butterfly Basics, wood mount; Kinda Eclectic, wood mount

Ink: Daffodil Delight, Calypso Coral, Pacific Point, Whisper White craft

Paper: Mint Macaron, Basic Black, Whisper White, Vellum, Pretty Petals Designer Series Paper Stack

Accessories: Butterflies framelits, Bold Butterfly framelits, Tags and Labels framelits, Elegant Butterfly punch, Bitty Butterfly punch, Sponge daubers, Stampin’ dimensionals, Pearls Basic Jewels, Metal Rimmed Pearls

Ooo, doesn’t that look really cool? I have been looking at the cover of the Annual Catalog … who hasn’t been drooling over the Tin of Cards kit featured there? There is a window/aperture card with butterflies, and I wanted to recreate something like it, but not the same. Along came sketch 408 and I knew how I wanted to lay it out.

Do you want to see a closeup of the main butterfly? I really, really like how it turned out.

Mojo408Butterflies_Closeup

The card I showed you above is actually version 2.0. The original version had an empty aperture. Looked a bit stark and empty. Also, the butterfly was missing something.

Mojo408Butterflies_Proto

Here I’ll show you a closeup of the original butterfly. This is how I created the bottom layer. The top layer of the final butterfly is the smaller butterfly from the Bold Butterfly framelits cut out of vellum. You can also see that you can use either the large or medium Metal Rimmed Pearls with the butterfly.

Mojo408Butterflies_ProtoCloseup

Leave a Reply

