We Love DS 2015 – the Treats

Wow, I really like how the card came out. Hopefully you got to see it yesterday. (If not, just scroll down a bit.)

Today, I’ll show you the treats I made. All of the names of the Demostrator Support staff was posted, in case we wanted to personalize something. Um, no, I didn’t have time for that, sorry!

I did manage to make a treat pouch for each person this year. I felt a little bit bad last year, but I suppose they got enough from other people to make up for it. 🙂

So, first here are a random sampling of the finished items before they went into the box.

CompletedTreats

Stamp set: A Fitting Occasion

Ink: Early Espresso, Baked Brown Sugar

Paper: Baked Brown Sugar, Crisp Canteloupe, Pistachio Pudding, Hello Honey, Coastal Cabana, Whisper White, Lullaby DSP, 2013-2015 In Colors DSP Stack

Accessories: Envelope punch board, Curly Label punch, 1″ circle punch, Fast Fuse, Best Year Ever accessory pack (SAB…), Stampin’ dimensionals

I put a snack size Hershey bar (different flavors), an Andes mint, and a Starbucks VIA pack. All perfect for a pick-me-up, I hope!

I’m really proud of myself for how these turned out. The pouches are really envelopes made with the Envelope Punch Board, and how I created it was a bit of an accident. They have nice rounded edges on the top and bottom flaps. Hmm, seem to have forgotten to take a picture of that. Okay, here’s a finished envelope without anything inside.

AssembledEnvelope

See how cool the top flap shape is? The bottom one is that way, too.

Here’s how I made it. I started with a piece of DSP 6″ x 6″.

Using traditional envelope instructions, I made the first punch and score at 2″ and completed the punch and score for an envelope.

TraditionalEnvelope

Now, I added a second punch to each side, and an addtional score line on two sides: on the first side that I started punching, I added a second punch at 4″ and scored. I rotated 90 degrees and only punched at 2″ (no scoring). Rotate again, punch and score at 4″. Rotate a last time and only punch (no scoring) at 2″.

ModifiedEnvelope

On the sides that just have the small flaps (only 1 score line in that direction), fold them under. Using that as a straight edge to use along your trimmer guide, cut off the other small flaps.

TrimmingFlaps

(You should see that there are two vertical score lines, and we are going to cut at the right most one.)

Now, your DSP will look like this:

AfterTrimming

All you need now is a little bit of adhesive on the (inside) sides of one of the larger flaps, and fold over onto the smaller flaps.

AddingAdhesive

Isn’t that fun? I like that this project starts with a 6×6 DSP piece. Not much waste and easy to cut the pieces you need.

I was able to pack up all the treats into one medium flat rate priority mail box. Hurray! I did remember to line the box with a plastic bag; I can’t assume the box won’t get wet just because California is not getting any rain!

There were two layers in the box. I separated the layers with the DSP chipboard backing cut down to 8-1/4 x 10-3/4.

BoxDivider

Just enough support so they should be reasonably neat when they unpack the box.

BoxFirstLayer

 

Leave a Reply

