Option A or B?

Do you go to the eye doctor? That’s a question I associate with those visits…

“Which do you like better? A … or B?”

In this case, I’m applying this question to a card I recently made.

Here’s Version A:

SquarePatchwork

Stamp set: none

Ink: Whisper White craft

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Real Red, Basic Black, Flashback DSP

Accessories: Sponge dauber, 1″ square punch

Quick and simple, this card was inspired by a magazine sample. That card used pastels. As I was going through my different packs, these particular colors drew me. They are bold, yet can be toned down a bit by applying ink around the edges. I liked that.

I added the squares to a Basic Black mat, because I wanted all of the squares on a dark background. I then added more color to the card with a Real Red mat. I used a neutral base of Naturals Ivory because 1) I thought a lighter color would ground the bright colors, and 2) the Ivory coordinated with the Very Vanilla in the DSP.

Now, here’s the tricky part. I put the card together up to this point and thought it looked great, albeit a little bit plain. The magazine sample had a focal element in the center.

What should I do? Well, I built the central element and took pictures of both versions and let you decide for yourself which you liked best.

Version B:

SquarePatchworkWFocal

Additional supplies:

Stamp set: A Fitting Occasion

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, Real Red

Paper: Basic Gray, Very Vanilla

Accessories: Curly Label punch, 1″ cirlcle punch, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stampin’ dimensionals

I’m so glad I pulled out this stamp set. Although I think it’s cute, I have a hard time using this set.

 

1 Comment

  1. Kimberly

    Always is better with a focal point….NICE

Leave a Reply

