Two Challenges Lead to Spring

Tomorrow (March 20) is the Spring equinox, which means we are officially now in spring. (I also heard it’s considered the beginning of the Persion year.) The weather here has been so freakish, that it’s nice to have the official season name finally match the weather. Or at least, more closely match the official season name.

I wasn’t sure if I’d have a card to show you specifically for Spring. I have been playing with a few elements, and thinking of how to use an element from a friend’s card (hi, Kim!)…

I started reviewing a couple of challenge sites, and this card was born! It took me at most 30 minutes to put it all together.

The two challenge sites are Mojo Monday (sketch 389)

zzmojo389

and Fab Friday (color challenge 59).

Fab Fri Logos-063

Since the deadline to link your project to the Fab Friday challenge is today, I thought I’d better finish the card NOW, and post!

Mojo389_Butterfly

Stamp set: Butterfly Basics (Occasions catalog)

Ink: Blushing Bride, Hello Honey

Paper: Calypso Coral, Whisper White, Blushing Bride, Best Year Ever DSP (SAB), Irresistably Yours Specialty DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Butterflies framelits (Occasions catalog), Best Year Ever Accessory pack (SAB), Hello Honey stitched satin ribbon, Paper doilies, Whisper White baker’s twine, Glue dots, Sponge daubers

I love how all the elements came together.

I sponged Blushing Bride around the edges of the striped paper from Irresistably Yours DSP. I’m not into full-on stripes, and this was a nice, soft way of using it. It was something inspired by a shabby-chic/grunge paper used in a magazine sample.

I used the splatter-pattern Calypso Coral piece and Calypso Coral for the card base because the color challenge called for the color. Since my sponged paper already had Blushing Bride on it before looking at the challenge, I thought “why not?”. 🙂

I debated between using Hello Honey ribbon or Calypso Coral ribbon (from the accessory pack). I stuck with Hello Honey for the contrast.

I added the half doily for a little bit of contrast under the butterfly. I had the doily sitting on my desk for who-knows-what (really must clean more often…) but I wanted a background for the butterfly. I decided to add it to just the lower half, well, because I thought it looked weird with the whole thing there. (Plus, the doily was wrinkled.)

Now the for really cute part! My friend Kim (hi!) recently sent me some cards, and I loved how the stacked butteflies look. Instead of the monochrome version she had (which looks cool, too), I decided to use two of the challenge colors. I picked Blushing Bride for the larger buttefly to contrast with the Calypso Coral on the bottom. The smaller butterfly used Hello Honey for contrast overall. I added a button from the Best Year Ever accessory pack. It’s technically Crushed Curry, but close enough, right? A bow of baker’s twine finishes off the button nicely.

And, there you have it! I swear it took less time to put the card together than to tell you about it. 🙂

In case I just enabled you to get both the stamp set and framelits… well, you may have to settle for getting them separately. I know we’re all budget-minded (ahem) and would rather get the 15% off with the bundle. Unfortunately, the framelits are currently unavailable (sitting at a port dock?), so the framelits and all related bundles are currently turned off for ordering. So, go play with the stamp set first, and get the framelits when they return! 🙂

1 Comment

  1. I really like how you just sponged the edges of the Irresistibly Yours DSP. It makes for such a soft look to go along with the delicate butterfly and doily! Thanks for sharing at Fab Friday!

Leave a Reply

