Another Take on Mojo

Here’s another take on the Mojo Monday sketch 385. This time, I wanted a slightly different look. I was browsing samples that had a distressed look, so I started with that idea in mind.

Mojo385_Distressed

Stamp set: Tap Tap Tap

Ink: Soft Suede, Sahara Sand, Crumb Cake

Paper: Naturals Ivory, Soft Suede, Sahara Sand, Very Vanilla

Accessories: 1-1/4″ Burlap ribbon, Stampin’ sponges, Stampin’ dimensionals

For the Occasions catalog release, Stampin’ Up training staff showed cards made by inking up background stamps and unevenly stamping a background. I’ve seen that and tried it before, so I’ve been itching to try it out again.

How it works: ink your background stamp (doesn’t have to be perfectly, evenly inked). Place rubber side UP on your craft surface. Lay your cardstock onto the background stamp and rub the backside of the cardstock to transfer the image. You control how much stamping is done by how thoroughly you rub over the entire area. I tried not to get all the way to the corners and edges. It’s okay to skip parts of the middle, too.

I inked the edges of the cardstock afterwards to soften up the uninked areas.

I used the alphabet border stamp from the set to create the diagonal border for the card. I ended up cutting the stamped border in half and leaving a gap of about 1/4″ (hidden by the middle panel, of course). I wanted the letters to go all the way to the edges, so that letters were visible on both sides. Otherwise, too much of it got covered up the the middle panel.

My vertical strip from the sketch was made using the burlap ribbon. I thought it gave the card a rustic (eclectic) feel. Plus, I bought a whole bunch intending to need more than I actually did, so I want to use it up. Fun stuff.

I roughly fussy-cut the typewriter, leaving a small border around. I sponged the edges to soften them up.

Simple, and amazingly quick to put together! All of the elements were started from scratch, too. Nothing sitting on my desk for this one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

