Big Sentiments

Do you like big sentiments? I like that they are big enough to “fill up” a card front, that you don’t have to do much else. But, they intimidate me some how. Maybe because it feels like shouting? (and I don’t shout, except at Convention, which my mom can attest to) 🙂

So, I saw samples on the blog of another stamp company’s design team… they also have big sentiments and the design team member showed ways to make the big sentiments more interesting. This sparked an idea that came out really cool.

I used the stamp set Big on You from the Occasions catalog. I participated in a live stream of the unveiling of the catalog, and I won this from the virtual prize patrol. Isn’t that cool?

BigWords

Stamp: Big on You (Occasions catalog)

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Paper: Basic Black, Whisper White, Real Red, Stacked with Love DSP stack (Occasions catalog)

Accessories: Itty Bitty Accents punch pack, Stampin’ dimensionals

So simple, but big statement, right?

The two words, Love You, are actually stacked one on top of the other. Because they are photopolymer, I was able to ink in sections and stamp them side-by-side. Pretty neat. You may noticed that the You is ever so slightly shorter, but only if you’re looking. I tried to line up the bottom of the words as best as possible, because I thought that looked better.

So, the idea is that you stamp your big word(s), then slice them apart and separate them a little bit. You can leave the gap undecorated, or add something such as a secondary phrase. Or, in my case, a related motif.

To put the pieces together, I cut a strip of the arrows to be larger than the opening I wanted (one row of arrows). I put dimensionals along the inside edge of each Whisper White piece and lined them up, framing one row of arrows. Then, I put dimensionals on the back of the one big piece to attach to the card base. Easy!

BigWordsAssembly

I balanced the sentiment out with a couple of punched hearts. They also add color and round out the theme of the card.

You could do the same technique with the stamp that says It’s Your Day stamp. The technique works best with blocky letters, so the other (script) sentiments are not good choices.

Got any big words in your stash you could play with?

Leave a Reply

