Quick Photopolymer Inking Tip

(aka, the amazing combination of Whisper White cardstock and Stampin’ Up! Classic ink)

Have you tried the photopolymer stamps yet? I’m always a little bit leery of using a solid stamp with the new firm foam pads, regardless of whether the stamp is rubber or photopolymer. However, I was making up some gift tags recently (I’ll post that tomorrow), and noticed something cool about using the photopolymer stamps. And making them stamp pretty, to my heart’s content.

First, what do I mean? I have always advocated using Whisper White cardstock from Stampin’ Up! for its coating in giving beautifully stamped images. I’ve used other (non-coated) cardstock before and have been frustrated that I cannot get a clean, solid stamped image. Whisper White cardstock allows the ink to move around a bit and allow the stamp to push the ink around to the full image before the ink gets fully absorbed.

So, while I will always love rubber stamps first, there is an advantage to using photopolymer stamps. You will be able to see when the image gets tranferred completely.

Here’s an example. I inked up a tree from Festival of Trees. Once I made sure that it was clean of lint (because that was affecting image transfer as well), I inked it up well with my firm foam pad (a new Wild Wasabi ink pad).

PhotopolymerInked

You can see the bubbles/pooling of ink on various portions of the stamp. If I had stamped this onto the other stuff I used, those darker areas would immediately soak up into the cardstock and I would get an unevenly stamped image.

Instead, I am using Very Vanilla cardstock, which as the same coating as Whisper White. I put the cardstock on top of a Stampin’ Pierce mat to give a firm and flat surface. Then, I applied my stamp to cardstock, pressing down firmly and evenly. You will actually see the image “develop”. It will spread out and fill out the entire image. Perfect!

PhotopolymerStamped

Because of the coating, the ink has a chance to evenly distribute between the cardstock and the stamp. Once the ink starts absorbing, you have a more even layer of ink across the stamp. Oh, happy stamping!

 

Leave a Reply

