Twice Punched

(No, not by fists! In my crafty world, I am talking about paper punches!)

So, do you think there is a word in other languages for “twice punched”, like there is for “twice baked”? (biscuit and biscotti; and then there’s ricotta for “cooked again” or something like that…)

If there is such a word, you would know that we crafters would use it. This is not a new concept, but I just tried it out recently with a fairly new punch. Or, at least, a punch I finally used other than to make sure it worked.

You may or may not notice the DSP I used… I like how it is not gender-specific.

MiniCardThanks

Stamp: Another Thank You (photopolymer)

Ink: Lost Lagoon

Paper: Smoky Slate, Lost Lagoon, Whisper White, All is Calm Specialty DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Note Tag punch (Holiday catalog), Small oval punch, Neutrals candy dots, Soft Sky 1/8″ taffeta ribbon, Stampin’ dimensionals

The finished card size is 3″ x 3″. The ribbon is wrapped around the front, and taped down under the sentiment.

Don’t you like the frame around the small oval punch? That’s the part that is “twice punched” (I think some people may actually say “double punched”). I actually can’t say why I tried this out when testing my punch, but I am glad I did.

I punched out a tag (and I actually only did half, because I don’t need the whole thing; save cardstock!). I stuck a Post-it to the bottom side and stuck the top edge back into the punch. It looked like this before punching again.

PunchingAgain

I eye-balled it to make the oval “frame” look even, and have the tabs a reasonable size for the candy dots. You can see from the picture that if I made it smaller, the oval would be flattened, and bigger would make it rounder. Ooo, I just realized… would a circle fit if I did punch it bigger? Hmm…

Off to find more sentiments that fit the small oval punch… this is a cute way of making up mini cards!

Leave a Reply

