Cool Embellishment

Do you have cool embellishments in your stash that just … sit there? Don’t get used? I am guilty of that all the time. So, as I was putting together the card I am going to show you today, I thought 1) I’d better use those adorable things, and 2) this was the perfect time to do it.

I have been trying to “maneuver” Mojo Monday sketch 370 into a card that I wanted to make. The ideas finally came together when I sat down to make this card.

Mojo370Wonderful

Stamp set: Wondrous Wreath (Holiday catalog)

Ink: Soft Sky, Lost Lagoon marker

Paper: Soft Sky, Whisper White, Lost Lagoon, Silver Foil, All is Calm Specialty DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: All is Calm Snowflake embellishments (Holiday catalog), Lost Lagoon stitched satin ribbon, Scallop edge punch, Whisper White baker’s twine, Banners framelits

Do you see the really cool embellishment? It’s fairly flat, so with some protection, I think you will be able to mail it. You may need extra postage, but you won’t have to worry about the envelope breaking apart from a bulky item.

I originally cut the sentiment using one of the larger banners from the framelits set. I also cut the next size up from Lost Lagoon to mat the banner. Turns out the “depth” of the points was too long to make the sentiment fit well on the card, with and without the mat. Instead, I trimmed down the points to be a bit flatter, and cut a smaller banner from Silver foil paper to give a bit of contrast and sparkle below the sentiment.

The picture above makes it look like dark cardstock, but it’s really silver paper, just not reflecting much. I took a closeup, but the camera wasn’t cooperating.

I tied the embellishment to the ribbon with some baker’s twine. I think you can see it in the picture. I tried to hide it. When that’s the case, Murphy stops by and decides things should work differently. The ends poked out where they wanted to go, so I decided to just let it be what it is. Stress-free crafting, right? 🙂

Leave a Reply

