November Paper Pumpkin

Well, here is this month’s Paper Pumpkin Play Date, just squeaking in for the month!

When you get a kit with a specialized design, it sure makes it a little bit difficult to come up with alternate designs.

First, I will show you the projects as they were designed.

Here is the card. I added a bit of removable adhesive to the points of the outer snowflake and to the flaps so that everything would lay flat for the picture.

MainCard

Here is the tag from the kit. It is meant to be backed by a matching white tag, so you can see the cutout letters. I forgot to add the silver baker’s twine.

MainTag

Additional Card Design

The first thing I thought of was that it was such a shame to punch out the letters from the tag and do nothing with them. Really, the thrifty thing to do was to use the letters (the whole phrase) on a card. Since there are twelve tags, you can make twelve more cards using supplies from your stash.

I used a card base in Naturals White, added some of the washi tape that comes with the kit, stamped a few snowflakes (stamp included in the kit), and embellished with rhinestones. Okay, the rhinestones on the snowflakes are from my stash, too. But the one on the letter “o” is from the kit.

CardWithLetters

I am quite particular about lining up letters, so I thought the easiest way to apply the letters to the card was to apply glue to the back of the letters while they were still attached to the tag.

TagGlueBack

Then, I lined up the tag on the card where I wanted the phrase, and pressed the letters down. Carefully ease the letters out of the tag.

TagApplyLetters

You now have the whole phrase lined up on your card!

Alternate Tag

If cards are not your thing, then you can apply the letter cutouts onto the white tags included in the kit. There are enough hole reinforcements for all 24 tags (12 Lost Lagoon and 12 Whisper White). There are enough snowflakes for each tag, if you don’t use them on the envelope as suggested. You would have to mix and match the colors.

I stamped my tag with the sparkles stamp before applying the letters.

TagWithLetters

Changing Up the Card

I decided that I can slice and dice the card base a bit and make it fancier. I changed mine from a gatefold card to an easel card.

EaselCardFront

Here’s a side view so you can see it better:

EaselCardSide

I added a score line in the middle of the inside base, and cut between that new score line and an existing score line to separate the base into two pieces.

ModifiedCardBase

I wanted the cut to be evenly between my score line and the built-in one, but it doesn’t really matter. I folded on the new scoreline. Attach both pieces to cardstock measuring 4-1/4″ x 5-1/2″ (I used Soft Sky), so that the smaller tabs are at the back.

EaselCardBack

HINT: stamp the snowflake in the middle of the snowflake halves before putting it all together!

The shorter flap will be on the inside of the card and help keep the other side open when propped up. I added glue dots to hold it down on the inside and to make a pocket for a gift card.

The longer flap will fold flat over the other side for flatter mailing.

EaselCardFlat

I added a glue dot to the point of the snowflake to keep it open against the card.

Using the Stamps

I couldn’t help using the stamps on other projects. First, I stamped Whisper White cardstock to make a box with the Gift Box punch board (this box was made with an 8×8 piece).

StampedBox

I also thought I could use part of “Happy Holidays” to spell out “Happy Day” for a non holiday card (either hello or congrats).

AltBirthdayCard

I inked and stamped each part of the phrase separately (cleaning the stamp in between). I stamped “day” second, so that I could use the rest of the word to line up with the “happy”.

Anything else?

What have you come up with? I wanted to make a belly band out of the snowflake card base, but couldn’t come up with a good way to make it work. Any ideas you have? I’d love to hear from you.

Thanks for playing along with me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

