Pumpkin … or Orange Tomato?

What in the world am I talking about, right? Well, when you see today’s card, maybe you’ll see what sparked that thought in my mind.

Oh, and this card was inspired by Mojo Monday sketch 367. Hey! I got it the same week it was posted!

Mojo367Pumpkin

Stamp set: Holiday Invitation photopolymer (Holiday catalog), Fall Fest photopolymer (Holiday catalog)

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Paper: Basic Black, Tangelo Twist, Mossy Meadow, Sahara Sand, Motley Monsters DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Fun Fall framelits (Holiday catalog), Hexagon punch, Large Scallop edgelits

I did turn the sketch upside down for this card. For the four bottom panels, I used creative license–imagined them as tree trunks. I did add the scalloped edge, but used a banner and pumpkin instead of a ribbon. But that’s okay! The sketch is intended to spark creativity, not dictate it.

Do you see what I mean about the pumpkin looking like a tomato? I cut the pumpkin-side of the stem with a jagged edge, because that’s how they appear to me. Once I put the stem on, it made it look like a tomato! You can see it, right?

It was so easy to stamp the face onto the pumpking after cutting it out. Gotta love the photopolymer stamps for that. The other thing that made me thrilled was that the sentiment came out so crisp! I had used “clear stamps” in the past, and the quality was no where near the ones I have been using from Stampin’ Up! I don’t know if it’s the quality of the material or the images they make, but the Stampin’ Up! photopolymer stamps make me happy!

Only thing about the face stamps? I wish they were big enough to use on the Fry box. Do you see where I’m going with this? I may have to resort to punch art. Stay tuned to see if I was successful.

Leave a Reply

