WCMD Inspiration

Need some inspiration for making cards on World Cardmaking Day (October 4)? I thought I’d throw out some easy ideas for you, so you can grab supplies and make a whole bunch of cards in a short time.

I’m not sure I’m going to be able to do much cardmaking on Saturday… the joys of working where I do. I will try!

Today’s inspiration is in itself inspired by a card by Mary Brown. I changed it up just a little bit, but I think it looks just as cute.

RainbowFlags

Stamp set: And Many More

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Paper: Whisper White, Rose Red, Blushing Bride, So Saffron, Wild Wasabi, Marina Mist, Wisteria Wonder, Calypso Coral

Accessories: Whisper White note cards, Decorative Dots textured impressions folder, Banner punch, Word Window punch, Modern Label punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

I started with the note cards. No cutting involved, and you already have the envelope in hand.

I punched out a bunch of banners; an easy way to use up scraps of cardstock.

For the embossed panel, I left about a 1/4″ border between the panel and the card base. The right hand side has a bigger margin to leave space for the banners. (If you really must know, the panel is 2-3/4″ x 4-1/2″)

I added some removable adhesive to the back of the embossed panel before arranging my banners. Once they were lined up (I actually checked with a ruler…) I glued the whole thing to the card base.

The sentiment is adhered to the card with dimensionals.

To mass produce, punch out lots of banners, and stamp a whole bunch of sentiments. The sentiments from the And Many More set are great, because they all fit in the Word Window punch. (You can also use Teeny Tiny Wishes the same way.) For this card, I stuck with colors for the banners from the Subtles family. You could also choose the same color, two or three colors (for a school or an event?), ombre colors, etc.

I thought the new Lucky Stars textured impressions folder would work well with this card, too. Instead of embossing, you could leave the panel plain, or use a subtle DSP piece that matches your banners.

You could also stamp your sentiment directly onto the Whisper White panel before embossing (and/or skip embossing) to make assembly even easier.

BONUS! Did you know that the Banner punch is on sale this week (until October 6)? Don’t forget to check out the Weekly Deals.

Leave a Reply

