September Paper Pumpkin Playdate

The end of September is already here! My, how time flies!

When you feel the time crunch, it sure helps to have a kit that brings you timely goodies. I just realized that I need to get my Halloween treats for the office finalized! More on that later.

Today, I’m going to show you what I did with my September Paper Pumpkin kit. I have to admit, we saw the contents of this kit at Convention, so I really should have had lots of time to think about what to make, right? Well, I will admit I started planning before I got my kit. But, not by much. 🙂

First, I’ll show you the video, in which they show the project as it was intended.

Alternate project bag

I decided that for my first project, I will stick to the burlap bag treat bag, but use different colors to show it does not have to be for Halloween. Instead of the black baker’s twine from the kit, I used Coastal Cabana thick baker’s twine (from the Annual catalog). I stamped in Coastal Cabana as well, and punched out a few stars from Coastal Cabana and Strawberry Slush cardstock.

BurlapBagAltColors

This bag has some candy in it to share. If you don’t want to share candy (I understand), you could use this particular sentiment to give someone a gift card to a local ice cream shop or candy shop, either for their birthday or just because. If you want to be healthy, it could even be for a specialty market that carries really good fruits and veggies.

Alternate project card

In this kit, you get 6 bags, but you get enough supplies for 12 tags (9 that have a printed mat, and one set of 3 ovals). You could easily use the extra tags to make cards. I used one of the image stamps to create a border on a Crumb Cake carstock base (finished size = 3-1/2″ x 5″). I tied black baker’s twine above the stamped border. (The images– bird, tree silhouette, skull and crossbones, and bat–all match the stickers you get with the kit.)

BooCard

Alternate project gift bag

The kit contains orange sequin trim, intended as a decoration for the tags (you pin a length behind the tag). It’s not really my thing, so I wondered what else I could do with it. I decided to use them as handles for a gift bag. With the Motley Monsters DSP, you can create a Halloween treat bag that’s big enough to hold a lot of treats!

TreatBagFinished

The finished size of the bag is 3-1/2″ x 4-1/4″ x 1-1/2″. A pretty decent size, and it’s pretty sturdy.

Start with a sheet of DSP cut to 6″ x 12″. With the long direction at the top of your Simply Scored, score at 1-1/2″, 5-3/4″, 7-1/4″, and 11-1/2″.

BagScore1

Turn the sheet 90 degrees so that one of the short sides is at the top. Score 1-1/2″ from one long edge, and 1″ from the other edge. If your paper is directional like mine, make sure that the 1″ score is along the TOP of the pattern.

BagScore2

As you fold and cut flaps apart, make sure you fold the 1″ strip to the outside. This will be your contrast trim/flap for the top opening of the bag. You will also want to cut off the small 1-1/2″ x 1″ piece that is along the bottom of the bag.

BagPartialFold

To attach the handles, I marked 3/4″ from the sides, along the edge of the folded contrast flap of the front and back. At each mark, I notched a small section out so I have a slit to put my handles. I used the Pennant builder punch, but you could use a 1/4″ handheld punch (I don’t have one yet!).

BagPunchHandleHole

Under the contrast flap, and under each hole, place a piece of sticky strip about 1/2″ long.

BagTapeHandleHole

This will hold the handles secure under the contrast flap. The contrast flap will hide the ends. I cut the sequin trim to about 7″ long.

BagHandleTaped

There is a small section of the contrast flap that will overlap where the bag is put together. I cut at the fold of the flap (between the flap and the body). You may also have to cut a sliver off this cut edge. I put the 1/2″ x 3-1/2″ piece on the inside of the bag, to make a tube out of the DSP. The small section of the flap goes under the flap on the other side, which will be on the outside.. Clear as mud? This makes the join neater and actually more stable.

BagTabCut

Whew! Hope you caught all that!

Other ideas

Do you have any other ideas on what to do with your kit? Here are some other ones I thought of:

  • Use the bag to hold a gift card to the local garden shop for a friend with a green thumb. Keep the tissue paper from your Paper Pumpkin box to wrap the gift card before putting it into the burlap bag. Tie closed with Linen thread, burlap ribbon, or Baked Brown Sugar thick baker’s twine.
  • Place packs of seed inside the bag to give your friend who has a green thumb.
  • Use the bag to give a gift card for Father’s day.
  • I’m going to use the stickers to decorate my Halloween treats for the office.

Anything else? I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

