Posted in Project

Short Noel Intermission

I’m still dreaming up cards to make using Motley Monsters DSP from the Holiday catalog. However, you know how you can never work on one thing at a time? Yep, that’s me. I made a slight detour to play with the Wonderful Wreath framelits. Specifically, I wanted to use the die from that set that spells “Noel”.

[But first, a public service announcement. 🙂 Did you know that the Clearance Rack has been recently updated? Check it out…]

After seeing a card posted by Mary Fish, that layered 2 die-cuts for a shadow effect, I felt I wanted to do the same. And, what better material to use than the Silver Foil sheets, right?

Hmm. I started with Silver Foil sheets backed by (retired) Multipurpose adhesive sheets. I also put the first liner between the die and the Silver Foil sheets.

Did you know there are holes in the die to help you remove the die-cut? Well, those things were leaving dimples!

SilverFoilNoel

(If you look closely at Mary’s card, you will see the same thing.)

I thought maybe the adhesive was adding too much bulk, so I did the same thing again without the adhesive. Hmm, still got dimples.

SilverFoilNoAdhNoel

I decided to dig out some Brushed Silver cardstock. Bought a pack way-back, but never seems to get any love. This time, success!

BrushedSilverNoelCard

I backed it with a die-cut in Bermuda Bay. The card base is Soft Sky, embossed with the really cool Filigree Frame textured impressions folder. (See, you don’t have to use it with the Cheerful Christmas stamp set…) I sprinkled some Frosted sequins for extra sparkle and to fill out the empty space.

I think the Foil sheets are just too “soft”, in that they easily pick up impressions.

My mom was musing as to how it would turn out with Glimmer paper.

Here is the die cut from Dazzling Diamonds glimmer paper. I always peel off the backing before die-cutting glitter paper (to reduce bulk). In fact, the die will just barely cut this stuff. (I wouldn’t make too many die cuts with glitter paper, for fear of “ruining” my die.) Hopefully you can see the sparkle. Very nice!

DiamondsNoel

Here is the die cut using the new Silver glimmer paper. I miss the old silver, but this one is super sparkly as well.

SilverGlitterNoel

Just for kicks, I put the Dazzling Diamonds die-cut onto my card to see what it would look like. This version would be very pretty!

NoelCardAlt

So many shapes to play with in this framelits set. You bet that you will eventually see the wreath. We got to play with it at Convention and I fell in LOVE! Will it end up on my Christmas card this year? I don’t know! There’s just over 3 months to go. I can change my mind several times before then! 🙂 (Because, you see, the Festival of Trees and Get Your Santa On stamp sets are also calling me…)