My Jaunty Pumpkin

I was playing with changing the sizes of die cuts recently, so I thought it was a good time to try out an idea I had for the Word Bubbles framelits set. I looked at this set a while ago and thought “Halloween”. I know, weird, right?

Well, for my first shot, I created a jaunty pumpkin. I say jaunty, because after assembly, it has angles to it that imply that it has a little bit of attitude.

Like the last card I showed you, I am using Mojo Monday sketch 361 and Motley Monsters DSP. I just cannot get enough of that paper. 🙂

Mojo361Pumpkin

Stamp set: None

Ink: Tangelo Twist

Paper: Baked Brown Sugar, Soft Suede, Hello Honey, Tangelo Twist, Old Olive, Motley Monsters DSP (Holiday Catalog)

Accessories: Word Bubbles framelits, Mossy Meadow stitched satin ribbon, Sponge daubers

See what I mean about the pumpkin having attitude? Just the way I happened to cut the cardstock for the stem, and the location. The stem sits at an angle. Also, how I cut the layers of the pumpkin, to give it texture, makes it seem like it’s sitting at an angle. Jaunty!

I cut three Word bubbles from Tangelo Twist. The first one is the base layer. The second got shortened near the “stem” end by die-cutting again with the same edge. The third layer was cut twice more, cutting in from both sides. I sponged the edges with Tangelo Twist ink before assembling.

I used the DSP pattern with the spooky forest as the setting for my pumpkin. Gives it a place to “sit”. For the background piece, I used the wood grain pattern, but cut it into two strips to mimic the tree pattern. I also put it on a mat of Soft Suede to frame the pattern a bit and make the two pieces stand out a little more. I thought it was a cool effect. 🙂

I used the stitched satin ribbon in Mossy Meadow, instead of some other “organic” ribbon that was my first choice (I was thinking Burlap ribbon, which I don’t have, or Linen thread, or even the chevron cotton ribbon). I thought the Mossy Meadow ribbon gave just a bit  more contrast, and helped the card from being too drab. Didn’t want too much brown on the card.

Leave a Reply

