Not Just for Halloween

Ah, my favorite DSP right now is Motley Monsters DSP from the Holiday Catalog. (Contact me if you think you should have gotten a copy of the catalog, but didn’t. I sent them out last week.)

Don’t be fooled by the monsters, ghosts, jack-o-lanterns, and candy corn patterns. There are other patterns that can be used for other occasions.

For example, there is a cute (of course) pattern with birds. It is a combination of black birds, owls, and another small bird. You can think “scary forest birds”, or just “cute birds”. I go with cute. šŸ™‚ Mary Fish used this pattern about a month ago on a friend card and I thought it was a wonderful idea!

I based this card on Mojo Monday sketch 361.

Mojo361Birds

Stamp set: And Many More

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black

Paper: Sahara Sand, Bermuda Bay, Basic Black, Hello Honey, Whisper White, Motley Monsters DSP (Holiday Catalog)

Accessories: Squares collection framelits, Word Bubbles framelits, Whisper White 1/4″ cotton ribbon, Word Window punch

Wouldn’t this make a cute card to send to someone? And, who would have thought the patterns came from “Halloween” paper, right?

This is the first time I used the 1/4″ cotton ribbon. Oh, it ties so, so nicely!! You’ve got to try it. šŸ™‚

The scallop square on the card uses an old idea that I forgot about: cut twice with your die to make it smaller. The original size is too big for an A2 card (I think I lopped off 4 scallops in each direction). You cut once, then lay the die over the original die-cut piece, but move one of the corners in by however many scallops you want to remove. You can make a rectangle or smaller square this way. It takes a bit of practice to get the placement just right to get the new rounded corners, but it works! I forgot about this technique until I saw a card by JanTink. I miss having the Bigz die with the small scallop squares, but now I have options! šŸ™‚

With that in mind, I also shortened the word bubble framelit to match the size of my sentiment. I stamped my sentiment onto Whisper White and then punched with the Word Window punch because I wanted the words to stand out better (than if I stamped directly onto Hello Honey cardstock). If I left the word bubble the orignal size, it looked a bit weird. But, it was just so easy to run the die cut through the Big Shot again and shorten it up!

I lined up the word bubble so that it looked like one of the birds was saying it. It covered up another bird, but that’s okay.

I used the colors from the DSP, but I tried to combine them in a way that didn’t scream Halloween. Did I succeed? šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

