The Swap That Never Was

Here is the card swap that I designed for Convention, but never actually finished prepping. I had all of the pieces cut and embossed in the Big Shot. All I had to do was some stamping, heat embossing, and coloring. (And assembly, of course.) But, it came down to the last day before I left, and I had to choose between chores and one last swap card.

So, I went the responsible route and chose chores. Yeah, really. (My husband was happier, though!) 🙂

Now, I only get to share this on my blog. It’s super cute, though, so here it is.

(I also have another card that only made it halfway through the design phase, so rest assured there’s at least one more card in the future for me to share. haha!)

NotSwapCard

Stamp set: Baby We’ve Grown, Chalklines

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, VersaMark, Skin Tones Blendabilities

Paper: Blushing Bride, Whisper White, Baked Brown Sugar, Strawberry Slush

Accessories: Bitty Accents punch pack, Fun Frames textured impressions folders, Blushing Bride baker’s twine, Rhinestones Basic Jewels

I have to confess that I bought this stamp set JUST for the rabbit. I am so glad I get to use it for at least one more year. 🙂

I thought the frame looked more cute if cut out around the edges. I embossed cardstock that was just about the right dimensions for the whole pattern (you can’t be too exact, because the embossing will “shrink” the cardstock a bit). I trimmed with my trimmer on the straight sides as needed, and hand cut the notches (this sample shows a circle punch in the notches, but it was too hard to line up for mass production.)

The heart on the frame helped soften up the lines a bit and adds a bit of contrast.

I originally had just the heat embossed lines in the background piece. I thought it needed something extra, so added some baker’s twine wrapped above it. Perfect! I thought I didn’t like the colored embossing powder, but I sure am having fun with the Blushing Bride embossing powder. Maybe because it’s a pink. 🙂

Leave a Reply

