My General Swap

Or, as my husband would say, my unorganized swap! 🙂 I only made one card design this year, because I ran out of time. I had one other swap designed; I’ll have to show you that some other day.

I tried not to use too many elements, but you know how it is… it has to impress! 🙂

GeneralSwap

Stamp set: World Map, Tap Tap Tap

Ink: Baked Brown Sugar, Strawberry Slush, Coastal Cabana, VersaMark

Paper: Baked Brown Sugar, Basic Black, Very Vanilla, Brushed Gold, Typeset Specialty DSP

Accessories: Venetian crochet trim, Gold Stampin’ emboss powder, Vintage faceted buttons, Gold baker’s twine, Pansy punch, Woodgrain textured impressions folder, Autumn Accents Bigz die, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Glue dots, Stampin’ dimensionals, Sponge daubers

The elements of the card came together in stages.

I started with the flower. I saw a similar flower in a British crafting magazine… it had a brown scroll pattern, colored with a bright pink and bright turquoise. The pink was at the center, and blended out to the turquoise that was along the edges of the petals. To recreate this look, I wanted a pattern that could cover most of the flower, but in a subtle way. I started with ink and the World Map stamp. (I thought Dictionary would be too busy.) I liked the look but something was missing. Heat embossing in Gold was the answer!

I didn’t stamp in the traditional way. I inked up the World Map stamp and put it on my desk, rubber side up. For each flower, I pressed it into one of the inked areas, not worrying about getting the image on the entire flower. Heat emboss and it was ready for ink.

I buffed in Strawberry Slush from the center out, stopping about halfway up the petals. I went back with Coastal Cabana, and worked in ink from the edges inward, to blend with the Strawberry Slush.

A single flower wasn’t full enough, so I punched out the same shape from one of the text patterns of Typeset Specialty DSP. I layered them with Glue Dots to give a little bit of dimension.

Each flower was topped off with a medium Vintage Faceted button, tied with Gold Baker’s twine. Hint: To thread the baker’s twine, use a threader. If that is not an option (like for me in the hotel room), cut the twine with a blunt edge, not a tapered edge. This is actually counter to the way you would cut thread (and ribbon), interestingly enough. If the edge was blunt, the twine stayed together better. A tapered edge kept unravelling. Really.

The leaf was cut out with the Autumn Accents Bigz die, folded in half, then embossed in the Woodgrain embossing folder. Funny, there are leaf shapes rubbed into the outside of the embossing folder now…

The next part of the card I chose was the DSP strip and cardstock mat. I wanted something bold to help “support” the bright flower. I liked the diagonal stripes from this particular pattern, and liked how a Basic Black mat helped make it stand out. I couldn’t help softening it out a bit with some Venetian crochet trim at the bottom.

The bottom of the card now was a bit empty. I placed a sentiment banner to the left bottom of the DSP strip to balance out the flower. The little banner is from the Tap Tap Tap stamp set. The part that says “*note*” is glued under the strip. I hand cut the banner; it wasn’t that difficult.

Hooray! Now the card base. I originally was going to choose Crumb Cake or the new Kraft, but somehow Baked Brown Sugar worked so much better.

Did you make it this far? That sure was a long discussion of how this card came to be!

Leave a Reply

