Convention Swap 2

Here is the other card I made for an organized swap. The choice of stamp set was wide open. We were just asked to keep to minimum number of layers (3) plus one embellishment. Stamping techniques were encouraged.

I wanted to use another image that I colored with Blendabilities. This time, I used the cute fox from the hostess set Life’s Adventure. I also stuck with the Moonlight DSP stack again because I found a pattern that I thought matched the sentiment perfectly.

CQSMojo351

Stamp set: Life’s Adventure

Ink: Memento Tuxedo Black, Crumb Cake Blendabilities, Pumpkin Pie Blendabilities, Coastal Cabana Blendabilities, Night of Navy Blendabilities, Skin Tones Blendabilities, Color Lifter

Paper: Naturals White, Lost Lagoon, Tangelo Twist, Soft Sky, Whisper White, Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer, Moonlight DSP stack

Accessories: Word bubbles framelits, Circles collection framelits, 2″ circle punch, Lost Lagoon stitched satin ribbon, Rhinestones Basic Jewels, Hexagon punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

Just TOO CUTE!

I based the card design on Mojo Monday sketch 351, because you know I regularly use their sketches.

Again, I picked an image to color that was on the small side. The nice thing about this image, though, is that there were distinct (line-delimited) areas to color and shade. Not one big area like the dinosaur on my previous card. Made blending a bit easier, even though it still took a while to color all the images for the swaps. The umbrella didn’t have the depth of color I would have liked. The areas to color were so small, that I was worried about color bleed. The dots on the umbrella were easy enough to color. I just added medium Coastal Cabana to them, no shading needed.

Wondering where my use of Night of Navy and Skin Tones sets? I used them to color the light areas of the fox: light marker of Night of Navy for the eyes, and Natural from the Skin Tones for the light areas of the fox body. I didn’t color straight with the markers, though. I scribbled some ink on a slick surface (such as a plastic box or sleeve). Pick up some of the color with the Color Lifter (like picking up ink with your blender pen). Then, color away. You get a faint, faint wash this way where you first put your marker down. This is like using your blender pen, actually! Just much more subtle color.

I thought I’d mention my dimension choices for my this card and the previous card. You will notice that I didn’t stick to the regular DSP mat of just smaller than the cardbase. Instead, I used a cardstock mat of 3-1/2″ x 4-3/4″, and a DSP (or cardstock) layer on top that is 3-1/2″ x 4-1/2″. If you think about it, this smaller layer is half the size of a sheet from the DSP stack! I wanted to maximize the use of the stack. This way, I can get at least two pieces (= two cards) per sheet. The traditional way only yielded one.

Do you like the cloud? It’s made with the thought bubble from the Word Bubbles framelits set. (I can’t take credit for this idea, but it’s been floating around for some time now.) I like how the cloud, the raindrop pattern, and the sentiment all tie together. I live for making up cards like this! 🙂 Now, if only we would get a significant amount of rain in California. Then, I’d be SUPER happy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

