Convention Swap 1

This swap is from the first organized swap I signed up for. The idea is to take a new stamp set from the Annual Catalog (one that was not offered as a preorder or incentive), and make a card. There was a minimum number of layers (3, not counting the card base), plus at least one embellishment. I chose Little Buddy Birthday because I loved the cute animals. Plus, I saw the dinosaur as an opportunity to color!

SomethingNew

Stamp set: Little Buddy Birthday

Ink: Memento Black, Rich Razzleberry Blendabilities, Pumpkin Pie Blendabilities

Paper: Sahara Sand, Hello Honey, Blackberry Bliss, Whisper White, Dazzling Diamonds Glimmer Paper, Moonlight DSP stack

Accessories: Fun Frames textured impressions folder, Tangelo Twist stitched satin ribbon, White baker’s twine, Small oval punch, Owl builder punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

Isn’t that just too cute! My original vision included bubbles everywhere in Blackberry Bliss, Hello Honey, and Tangelo Twist. I couldn’t think of a way to easily reproduce it (I thought embossing folder, stamping, punched circles…). In the end, I settled for the Moonlight DSP piece with the Blackberry Bliss and Hello Honey “bubbles”. (I think there is Sahara Sand in there, matching my card base.)

I tried jazzing up the embossed frames in different ways, but settled on just cutting it out. The other experiments were too finicky and strange looking to use!

I had fun trying to color (blend with shading) the dinosaur with my Blendabilities. In retrospect, having an image with voids (his spots) makes it much harder! Especially if you want to color it a completely different (and lighter) color. Perhaps if I made him Coastal Cabana and made the spots Old Olive, I could have colored over the spots while coloring his body. Oh, well.

But, I managed to find a method that was somewhat consistent from image to image. I have been coloring dark to light, so I added all the dark areas first with the dark marker. I kept away from the line because I found that with all the blending I did later, the color was bleeding out where I didn’t want it.

I went over the dark areas with the medium marker, extending out the darker area just a bit. Keep in mind that as you blend with the next color, the darker areas will expand a bit.

Finally, I went  from dark area to dark area with my light marker, slowly blending out areas together. Sometimes the coloring was a little bit too blotchy (even though it is his skin), so I went over lightly with the light marker again, and that smoothed out the color. Didn’t get super light highights, but I still had enough depth that it looked good for me. I don’t care for highlights with the color lifter.

Leave a Reply

