Paper Pumpkin Play Date

I spent some time playing with the June Paper Pumpkin kit. First, I made one of the pinwheels per the instructions. I haven’t quite figured out how to make it spin, although I did attach to a paper straw. (I took it to work, and a coworker immediately tried to spin it! Okay, gotta work on that.)

Here’s the Stampin’ Up! video showing how to put the pinwheels together.

I eventually made three pinwheels. Two are at work. Here is the one I kept at home.

PinwheelJar

I decorated a jar I got at Daiso (a Japanese “dollar” store) with Beach House washi tape.

The DSP for the pinwheels is pre-cut and punched. This created a bit of a challenge in designing other projects; most cutting will give you triangles. I went to Google to search for quilt patterns using triangles, but didn’t get terribly inspired. I decided to just start cutting and see where things went from there.

The squares are 4-1/2″ x 4-1/2″ and have patterns on both sides. I decided to cut the square down to half its original size to give me pieces that are easier to work with for A2 and notecard-sized cards. Instead of cutting into fourths, I cut off 1-1/8″ from all four sides.

PinwheelCuttingGuide

From one square you get:

  • One 2-1/4″ x 2-1/4″ square from the middle, still partially cut at the corners
  • Two trapezoids, 4-1/2″ on the long side and 2-1/4″ on the short side
  • Two rectangles, 1-1/8″ x 2-1/4″
  • Four triangles, 1-1/8″ on two sides

Here are the extra supplies I pulled out.

  • Whisper White notecards and envelopes
  • Basic Metal buttons
  • Designer buttons in Neutrals
  • Cardstock: Night of Navy, Real Red, Smoky Slate, Whisper White, Naturals White
  • Project Life journaling pens

I cut up three pinwheels in order to play with all the different patterns. I made 4 cards and one frame.

Frame:

PictureFrame

The frame is made from the trapezoids, backed by a 4-1/2″ x 4-1/2″ piece of Whisper White. I cut out the middle with the third smallest Square collection framelits, but you can also trim it out with trimmer/craft knife or just paste your picture in. (The opening is 2-1/4″ x 2-1/4″.)

A2 card:

A2Card_squares

The A2 card was made with the inner squares. I backed them with matching cardstock to give the cuts some stability. I used half of a banner from the kit and stamped the sentiment. I even added twine (there’s LOTS).

Note cards:

These three cards were made with various pieces, and can be gifted to someone using the cello bags from the kit!

Notecard_RectangleBlocks

This first card uses one rectangle from each pattern. I backed the strips with a coordinating piece of cardstock, to both frame it and to have something substantial onto which to attach a clip. The clip and twine are both from the kit.

Notecard_PinwheelBlock

The next card uses four triangles to make a pinwheel block. I attached the triangles to a 2-1/4″ x 2-1/4″ square of Whisper White, then backed with a coordinating cardstock. I use the skinniest of the Project Life journaling pens to create faux stitching in the Whisper White triangles. I finished with a Whisper White button threaded with twine.

Notecard_FauxPinwheel

For the last card, I needed 4 squares each of two patterns. I cut up the trapezoids (cut off the triangles) to create more rectangles and then cut the rectangles in half. This is a pinwheel-type card I’ve made before. I grabbed a medium-sized metal button, tied a bow, and attached to the center to finish it off.

I still have one rectangle and 6 triangles left. Other triangles were consumed in an experiment that went nowhere. I could make more of the pinwheel blocks, but was hoping to have other ideas instead. Do you have any ideas?

Someone kindly posted a way to make the pinwheels moveable on the paper straws. You will need eyelets and a setting device (aka Crop-o-dile) for this.

First, flatten one end of the straw. I found it best to flatten about 1-1/2″ to 2″. Punch a hole about 1/2″ from the end. Set your eyelet in the hole. I used the 1/8″ hole. When you assemble your pinwheel, thread the brad ends into the eyelet before opening it up. Don’t make too tight. Now, you have a moveable pinwheel (it won’t move with the wind, but that’s okay).

StrawEyelet

StrawEyeletSide

PinwheelBack

I hope you had fun with this kit; I certainly did. I didn’t expect to come up with these many extra projects! Now, to spread the joy at work and give away pinwheels! 🙂

If you don’t currently subscribe, but are interested in joining, head over to the Paper Pumpkin website. You can also buy pre-paid subscirptions if you want to try it out for a limited number of months without having to enter a recurring payment option. (You can always pend or cancel your subscription at any time.)

Leave a Reply

