CASe and Challenge Card

I wanted to play along with a color challenge from the Fab Friday Challenge blog (challenge 42). Since I’ve been playing with the Endless Birthday Wishes photopolymer stamp set recently, I thought I could combine the two. I’ve been at a loss, but then saw an inspiration card by Kimberly van Diepen on the Stampin’ Up! home page…

FabFri42Birthday

Stamp set: Endless Birthday Wishes (photopolymer), Work of Art (new)

Ink: Crisp Canteloupe, Pool Party, Coastal Cabana

Paper: Naturals White, Hello Honey, Whisper White

Accessories: Gold Baker’s twine, Starburst framelits, 1-3/4″ circle punch, Vanilla Shimmer Smooch spritz

I didn’t copy her card exactly. I don’t like the current trend of putting loops of thread/twine behind shapes, so I just tied mine around the card front. I also don’t have the new mini shapes punch pack with the star shape (although I could use the retiring/retired Holiday shapes punch pack). I hope you can see the cake image over the stamped “swoosh” from Work of Art. I didn’t realize how dark the Pool Party ink would stamp up. (You will see that both Kimberly and one of the design team at Fab Friday used this same idea.)

I wanted to recreate the uneven stamping of the chevrons that Kimberly did. I inked my stamp, placed it rubber-side up on my craft table, and then pressed my cardstock to the stamp. I tried to press in only a few spots, but I guess I ended up getting most of the stamp. Hee hee. Oh well.

I love the new photopolymer stamps for stamping sentiments. I didn’t have to worry about stamping mine with a Stamp-a-ma-jig for perfect placement. Although, I must have eye problems, because even with both, I can still manage to stamp crooked! πŸ™‚

Oh, I do have to mention that the color challenge calls for Summer Starfruit. I replaced this color with Hello Honey. They are similar, but Summer Starfruit has a bit of green in it. I used Hello Honey so that my card is still “current” (no retiring/retired products). Plus, I was too lazy to find a scrap of Summer Starfruit. Since I’ve been playing with the new In Colors, I had a scrap of Hello Honey (conveniently) on my desk.

I tried to sparkle up my card by spritzing my cake image with Smooch spritz. Unfortunately, it doesn’t photograph well, so you’ll have to take my word for it, that the sparkle is pretty in real life. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

