I Had Good Intentions

Isn’t that how it always starts? Good intentions.

Tonight, demonstrators across the country (but not all states, sorry MOM!) get to see the new catalog in a new type of event. I was excited that I had already asked for the day off, and the location was within a 30 minute drive, so I registered as fast as I could.

And, being a “trained” demonstrator, I thought that you MUST have swaps, right?

Then, the retirement list took the wind out of my sails. How could I possibly come up with a swap card with what’s left?

Well, that was the challenge to myself. And, I surprised myself. You get to see the result of what I made.

But the swaps? Um. Never happened! 🙂 (In my defense, I agreed to help a coworker make favors and this was the weekend to do it…)

I combined Mojo Monday sketch 342 (somewhat timely!) and the Zoo Babies stamp set.

Mojo342Giraffe

Stamp set: Zoo Babies

Ink: Blushing Bride, Early Espresso marker

Paper: Crumb Cake, Early Espresso, Blushing Bride, Whisper White, Real Red

Accessories: Ovals collection framelits, White 5/8″ organza ribbon, Hearts collection framelits, Rhinestones Basic Jewels, Alphabet Press textured impressions folder

I like using the Alphabet Press embossing folder with the baby theme. So cute!

Even though a giraffe is not pink, it had to be because it is on a baby card, right? I added the Early Espresso on the neck and antlers to give it come extra color oomph.

My challenge on this card was to find an aperture big enough for the giraffe to sit in. I didn’t want to just show the head and neck, because I thought that looked a bit creepy. The floating head thing, you know? I compromised by showing most of the legs. This giraffe was taller than I remembered! 🙂

I added the heart to the frame to break up all the straight lines. I used the smallest heart in the framelit set because the small heart punch is retiring. Added a rhinestone for some sparkle.

I’ll be showing the other cards in the next few days…

Leave a Reply

