Adding Random Blocks of DSP

That pretty much sums up how I came up with this card design! I had pulled out different patterns from the Fresh Prints DSP stack, even cut some up, for random inspiration on a previous day. So, you know, when you leave things out from the day before, not only do you annoy your OCD spouse, you occasionally get inspired for a card design!

FreshPrintsYouMe

Stamp set: Perfect Pennants (wood-mount, Occasions catalog)

Ink: Early Espresso

Paper: Crumb Cake, Real Red, Whisper White, Fresh Prints DSP stack (Occasions catalog)

Accessories: Envelope Punch board, Scallop edge punch, 2-3/8″ scallop circle punch, 1-3/4″ circle punch, Whisper White 3/8″ taffeta ribbon

I was originally going to make this card in portrait orientation, with the polka dot piece on the left (next to the fold). But, as I was moving things around, I liked the look of the polka dot piece where I eventually placed it, on the bottom of a landscape-oriented card. I rounded the bottom corners of the card, because I thought that the rounded corners made it look more stylish. I even added the scallop border at the top edge.

Did you know? I only created a border about 2″ to 2-1/2″ long. Why? Because I realized that it wouldn’t be visible once I put down all the other layers. It’s a good thing I had the smaller layers going BEFORE I decided to make the scallop border. All I had to do was find a scrap long enough, rather than dig out a larger piece of Whisper White to make a full-length border.

I added the ribbon across the middle to tie everything together. I thought the sentiment was a nice, playful one that fit the color scheme and patterns.

Leave a Reply

