Using DSP Patterns that Don’t “Click”

There is usually at least a couple of patterns in a DSP pack that don’t “click” with me. Which is usually okay, because I usually like the other side… except this time, when they were on opposite sides of the same sheet! So, what to do?

I eventually had the idea to use the banner pattern for a birthday card. I thought I’d use up more of the paper by using the mostly-coordinating pattern on the back. I’m not a fan of Summer Starfruit, so I didn’t think I would use the pattern much otherwise.

SorbetBirthday

Stamp: Big Wish (clear-mount, Occasions catalog)

Ink: Sahara Sand, Bermuda Bay classic pad and marker, Coastal Cabana marker, Pool Party marker, Soft Sky

Paper: Soft Sky, Basic Black, Whisper White, Coastal Cabana, Sweet Sorbet DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Scallop Tag Topper punch (Occasions catalog), Summer Starfruit stitched satin ribbon, Scallop edge punch, Banner punch, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Stamping sponges

I wrapped the Summer Starfruit ribbon on the join between the two pieces of DSP. I created a stand-alone bow and positioned the tag with the bow on top so that it looks like the bow was part of the ribbon underneath. I scalloped the end of the tag to mimic the banner pattern. I sponged a bit of Soft Sky around the edges so that that tag didn’t totally “disappear” into the DSP (which has a Whisper White background).

I have “Happy Birthday” in different incarnations in different sets, but I liked the fun images and quirky sayings in this set. I resisted since the pre-order, but I eventually broke down (that’s what happens sometimes when you browse blog-land too much). I also like the banner image and can’t wait to try that out with different colors on a card.

Do you like the stack of macarons under the glass cover? Don’t confuse them with macaroons. The ones on the card are made, I think, with egg whites, and the other type is made with coconut. Two totally different beasts. I suppose you could also color the stamp to look like burgers! (Hey, a man card idea!) I settled for coloring them in a gradient, like you would see at a buffet setup.

Leave a Reply

