Another Take on Sketch

This is actually the first attempt at using Mojo Monday sketch 335 (again, still in the week it was released!). I had a bunch of pieces of Sweet Sorbet DSP lying around my paper cutter (okay, more than that, but you don’t need to know exact details…). I just started mixing and matching and eventually came up with today’s card.

Mojo335_Sorbet

Stamp set: Perfect Pennants (wood-mount, Occasions catalog)

Ink: Basic Black

Paper: Soft Sky, Sahara Sand, Basic Black, Coastal Cabana, Sweet Sorbet DSP (SAB)

Accessories: Scallop edge punch, Itty Bitty Shapes Punch pack, Squares Collection framelits, Rhinestones basic jewels, Pistachio Pudding stretch ruffle trim, Stampin’ dimensionals

I like how some of the small flowers peek out from the pattern of the bottom DSP piece. I decided to mimic that with the small flowers around the sentiment. I punched those out from various scraps of Sweet Sorbet DSP. I used my Simply Scored stylus and my Stampin’ mat to make the flowers more dimensional. It’s easy, actually. Just put your flower down on the mat and press in the middle with the stylus. I also used the stylus to help stick it down to the card: add a dab of Tombow Mono Multi to the center back, and press down with the stylus from the front. This puts pressure right where the glue is, and helps keep the flower dimensional. I added a rhinestone to the centers to dress it up.

The hardest part of using the sketch was the flag or ribbon element. I didn’t want a knot or a loose ribbon end. I didn’t even want a banner. After a little bit of experimentation, I settled on the ruffle trim, which adds a bit of character, but stays neat.

Leave a Reply

