Not Sure What Happened Here

I was contemplating how to put a color gradient on a card, and then Mojo Monday sketch 334 showed up. I thought, oh, the perfect opportunity has arrived!

But, when I actually sat down to accomplish this, I got … sidetracked. Or maybe confused. 🙂 I somehow pulled out the lovely Watercolor Wonder DSP, and ended up using the pattern with different colors of chevrons instead of creating a gradient. And then I just kept adding each element until I had the card you see here.

Mojo334_Tangerine

Stamp set: Nature’s Hello (Clear-mount, Occasions Hostess), Backyard Basics

Ink: Tangerine Tango, Smoky Slate

Paper: Smoky Slate, Whisper White, Vellum cardstock, Watercolor Wonder DSP (Occasions catalog)

Accessories: Backyard Basics framelits, Corner rounder punch, Stampin’ dimensionals

Before I go any further … did you know that the Backyard Basics framelits set is part of the Weekly Deals that end tonight? Notice that there’s an egg shape … perfect for Easter later next month!

I think this card turned out kinda cool. I had to fussy-cut the flower from the hostess set, but it wasn’t so bad. I do think I may have to order the matching framelit set at some point, though.

I followed the basic layers of the card sketch. The DSP with the chevrons correspond to the three pieces shown with a gradient in the sketch. I suppose it didn’t have to be a gradient, just looks that way. It’s how we interpret it, right?

The vellum layer is the unexpected piece that I really like. As usual, a random element of work-in-progress on my desk fell onto my work area as I was finishing this card. (It was a watercolored version of the same stamp, but on Whisper White.)

I liked the look of the branch of flowers hanging over the top DSP piece, but I wanted something just a little bit softer and just the outline (not colored in). I was too chicken to stamp, since I liked everything else on the card up to that point. (And, you know, Murphy’s law says that if I tried to stamp it, something would go wrong and I would have to start all over.) So I tried a vellum overlay and love it!

Leave a Reply

