{Bee} Mine Valentine Treats

If you’ve followed my blog for a few years, you know that I make treats for the office. I managed to package and drop off my Valentine treats a little bit early this year. I was in the middle of errands, so dropped them off at work, rather than trying to drag them in while running into the building from the parking structure on a work day. People think I’m crazy, but eat the candy anyway.

🙂

This year, I made use of the cute packaging from the Whole Lot of Love promotion. You can still get these until tomorrow night (February 14), if you think you have packaging needs that this can fill. First the treat!

BeeMineTreat

Stamp set: Crazy, Mixed Up Love MDS download

Digital Ink: Crushed Curry, Basic Black

Paper: non-Stampin’ Up! cardstock

Accessories: Sweetheart Treat Bags kit, 1-1/4″ circle punch

Isn’t that cute? And, they made up really quickly. I think it took maybe 2-1/2 hours to make up about 60.

It was an awesome packaging choice because most of what I used was in the kit. I saved some stamping time by using My Digital Studio to create the {Bee} mine stamping 60+ times. I used the “mine” stamp as is, but had to shrink the bee a bit to fit nicely in the 1-1/4″ circle. I could have gone bigger, but it wouldn’t have fit nicely on the banner from the treat bag kit.

The baker’s twine is intended to wrap around the top of the treat bag to hold it closed. Since I was making so many of them, I decided it was easier to tie around a small banner rather than a 3-1/2″ wide bag. (The bag is 5″ tall.) Plus, I think it looked cuter that way. By the way, each piece of baker’s twine is a generous length. I was able to add a bow to 4 banners per piece! (Means I got a lot of twine left over!)

I folded over the tops of each bag and stapled closed on the top right hand side. I then stuck the banner over the staple, with the top of the banner flush with the fold at the top of the bag. The 1-1/4″ circle with “bee mine” was attached to the banner with a dimensional. The following picture shows a little of the assembly details.

BeeMineTreatParts

A little tip for you if you have to make a bunch of party favors: I found that it helps to stuff each treat bag/container if you can stack them with the openings easily accessible. Then, all you have to do is drop each item into the open bag/container. This is assuming that you are giving more than one of something. 🙂 I gave a variety: a Hershey’s Kiss, Dove dark chocolate, Palmer’s peppermint patty, Starburst, and/or Lifesaver. I try to buy so that I have just enough, but sometimes you have to fill the last few with duplicates of one or another… I had a folding Hello Kitty crate that I found at a scrapbooking event a while ago, so this made holding all the bags easy.

BeeMineTreatStacking

Sorry I can’t leave chocolate for you to take from my blog, but I hope that satisfies your sweet tooth for today!

Leave a Reply

