Posted in Project

Rainy Day Card

It seems fitting to share this card with you today. I put together this card on a rainy day. Today is another rainy day! It was nice to be able to be in the rain for a bit (I went out to Starbucks on that day…early enough to avoid crazy drivers; today I will be different since it’s a work day!). I’m always hoping we get more rain, but now that I think about it, I prefer the rain during the night so I don’t have to deal with a crazy commute! Although rain on a day I stay home is okay. 🙂

As you’ll see, I’m using my favorite SAB product again.

CloudyDay

Stamp set: See Ya Later (SAB)

Ink: Midnight Muse

Paper: Soft Sky, Basic Gray, Smoky Slate Core’dinations, Whisper White

Accessories: Decorative Dots textured impressions folder (SAB), Midnight Muse stitched satin ribbon, Decorative Label punch, Vintage faceted buttons

Since our pre-order was during December, I’ve been thinking of how the Decorative Dots embossing folder looks like snow. I took it a bit further, and thought any “texture” in the sky, really. So my dots in this case are raindrops! I used Core’dinations cardstock for the embossing, but I’m too chicken to sand it. I am a control freak, and I’m always afraid I’ll sand just one too many times and get a look I don’t like…

I initially was going to make a horizontal banner with the sentiment (since we cannot seem to get away from banners currently), but for some reason, the Decorative Label punch called me. Since the sentiment fit, I thought it was meant to be. Did you notice that I also inked up the stamp without the included image? It’s not that I don’t like it, I just didn’t feel like using it on the card. (This is a great way to use these stamps, by the way.)

I used some Midnight Muse stitched satin ribbon to create a band of color along the bottom of my card, and to help ground the sentiment. I do have some “floating” embellishments on the top left, though. I like how the small clear buttons are like huge raindrops. 🙂

I was told that the inside was not finished when I initially showed this card to my husband. So, of course there is now something on the inside. For when the rain is done!

CloudyDayInside

Additional supplies:

Ink: Smoky Slate, Tangerine Tango

Paper: So Saffron, Whisper White

Accessories: Cupcake builder punch, Boho Blossoms punch, Sponge daubers

You know, I was just musing: what do the squirrels do when it’s raining, especially if it’s a hard rain for an extended time? Not that I’m sympathetic or affectionate toward squirrels. I mean, really. The bunch at our last place were a bunch of sassy vandals: stealing or otherwise destroying our garden when we had it. I think they must have been on something, too, or at least one of them. I caught one squirrel dancing at the bottom of the big tree in the back. Either practicing for a competition or going through a strange ritual before going up the tree. There was also a squirrel that would try to jump from the tree to the roof, but would hit the side of the house instead (ouch).

Here? They chase each other and yell at each other. Run along the roof. We swear they throw stuff at the house too. (Or, that’s the tree.) Well, I hope they are safe, anyway, so we can yell at them another day. 🙂

Author:

A stamper that also fell in love with paper over 20 years ago. That love affair has never really ended. Oh, and I'm happily married and work a crazy schedule.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.