It’s Not All Arrows

Today’s card uses more Retro Fresh DSP, but I want to show you that not ALL of the patterns have arrows on them (although, if I think about it, there are rows and rows of arrow heads on the back of this pattern!)

SimpleTangerineIris

Stamp set: Backyard Basics

Ink: VersaMark, Tangerine Tango, Old Olive

Paper: Crumb Cake, Tangerine Tango, Whisper White, Retro Fresh DSP (Occasions catalog)

Accessories: Aqua painter, Black Stampin’ emboss powder, Embossing buddy, Whisper White 3/8″ taffeta ribbon

Simple card, nice and soft background colors, brings the focus on the stamped and watercolored image. I added the mat layer at an angle to be a little different. I was originally going to line everything up with a consistent border, but the layers happened to initially fall at an angle (when I was making sure everything will go together). I liked the crooked look, and so eventually glued it down that way.

I got the urge to color recently, and had picked this image to play with. I actually spent some time on Google looking at different pictures of irises to get good color ideas. I have seen white, yellow, and blue-purple ones in real life before, but I wanted to color an orange one. I was really trying to see if the color I wanted actually existed in real life! 🙂 I did find some pictures of similar colors to what I used, so I then felt comfortable enough to grab my inks and Aqua painter.

The flower uses all Tangerine Tango. Really. I watered down the ink quite a bit to add the initial color. I then went back with more concentrated color in the areas I wanted to shade or that would “normally” get a lot of color for this flower. I hope I don’t “offend” any flower people out there with my flower color scheme (I hear that once in a while–“that flower does NOT grow in that color!”).

I’ll also have to mention that I was originally not planning on getting this stamp set. I did want the egg, but that’s about it. BUT. (There’s always a “but”, right?) The Occasions catalog has this cool hostess set that coordinates with the same framelits set. So… yep, I grabbed Backyard Basics and the matching framelits set, and will be getting the hostess set with my next order. Can’t wait!

Oh! Oh! I almost forgot… I’m glad that I’m in the coloring mood, because… Stampin’ Up! will be releasing their own ALCOHOL MARKERS! Yes! They are finally coming! (Jumping up and down!) Release date has not been announced yet, but I did hear this quarter sometime. Oh, wouldn’t that make a fun purchase during Sale-a-Bration? I’ll post more details once they are out.

Leave a Reply

