What’s with Arrows?

I’ve been playing with arrows a little bit, primarily because one of the newest papers in the Occasions catalog, Retro Fresh DSP, has arrows on so many of the designs! So, can anyone tell me where this trend came from?

Fortunately for my sanity, arrows fit right in with a Valentine’s theme. While playing on the design of another card, I came up with the focal image idea for the card I am showing you today. And, you can see how recently I have made this card, because I am quite timely in using Mojo Monday sketch 328! I mean, have I ever made a card in the week the sketch posted?

Here’s the card:

ArrowHeart_Mojo328

Stamp set: Love You More (clear-mount, promotion)

Ink: Early Espresso

Paper: Baked Brown Sugar, So Saffron, Real Red, Whisper White, Champagne Glimmer, Retro Fresh DSP (Occasions catalog)

Accessories: Arrows textured impressions folder (Occasions catalog), Label card thinlits set, Full Heart punch, Bitty Banners framelits, Stampin’ dimensionals, Crop-o-dile

CUTE! Do you like how I made the arrow go through the heart? The arrow die is from the Label card thinlits set. I cut it out of the Champagne Glimmer paper. After punching out the heart, I took my Crop-o-dile and punched two of the smaller holes in the center of the heart. I cut the arrow in half and inserted each half into one of the holes. Here’s a closeup:

ArrowHeart_CloseupFront

On the front, I added a bit of Tombow Mono Multi to hold the arrow piece in place. On the back, I used dimensionals to hold the back ends in place and flat. The beauty of this is that the cut ends don’t have to match, so you can actually extend the length of the arrow somewhat. It all depends on how far apart you punch the holes. (The angle at which you punch the holes also determines the angle of the arrow… I found that out the “hard way”!) Here’s the back:

ArrowHeart_CloseupBack

I placed the heart on a piece of the Retro Fresh DSP with the skinny arrows. Goes along with my idea of a heart pierced by a random (or not-so-random) arrow.

For the sentiment, I inked up the sentiment that belonged on the set of three arrows in the Love You Much stamp set. I just wanted the sentiment, not more arrows! I then cut out the sentiment using the bigger banner in the Bitty Banners framelits set. I added more arrows to the card by embossing the So Saffron panel on which I placed my sentiment.

So, you would think that’s it to the card… but I came back to it the next day and decided it didn’t work for me. (Most times I love my cards more the next day!) I wanted to tweak it just a bit. And here’s what I did:

ArrowHeart_Mojo328_Take2

Do you see what I did a bit differently?

I made the background DSP layer just a bit smaller and rounded the corners. I used the Envelope Punch Board to do that, since the diameter of the circle is just a bit bigger than our handheld corner rounder. I found that by shrinking the background just a bit, it defined the card better. The other way, the background seemed to blend with the outer dimensions of the card and the So Saffron panel, even though the colors contrast. I know, my mind is weird sometimes.

The second change I made is to add a Real Red candy dot to the sentiment flag. The candy dot anchors the sentiment to the card/side of the card. I don’t always do this, but the card seemed to need it this time.

Isn’t it funny how a card can look so different when you tweak a few details?

Leave a Reply

