Snow From Grunge

The other idea I’ve wanted to try for a while is creating snow using a splatter stamp. I finallly took out my Gorgeous Grunge stamp set and got to work.

GrungeSnow

Stamp set: Gorgeous Grunge, Petite Pairs

Ink: Whisper White craft ink, VersaMark, Soft Sky

Paper: Soft Sky, Whisper White, Pistachio Pudding, Baked Brown Sugar

Accessories: Pistachio Pudding ruffled trim, Iridescent Ice embossing powder, Sponge Daubers

Can you see the sparkle of the snow that’s falling, as well as the tops of the snow on the ground? I used Whisper White craft ink to give the falling snow some color. Otherwise, the Iridescent Ice embossing powder is somewhat clear. Makes it harder to see the sparkles, I think.

After tearing the Whisper White cardstock at the bottom of the card front, I sponged Soft Sky ink to give some definition of the edge. I swiped the VersaMark pad over the edge, then embossed with Iridescent Ice for more sparkle on the card.

Splatters are not just for grunge-y or messy looking cards! (I still don’t know how to use the other splatters; I was thinking snow ball fight?) 🙂

Do you like my tree? Someone posted a card sample from the Founder’s Circle (was that in September?), that had this idea on it. I finally had a chance to do it myself. I cut a triangle (base = 1-3/4″, height = 2-1/4″), and added the ruffled trim starting from the bottom. I use Tombow Mono Multi to attach the trim. I think next time I’ll start from the top so that I can make sure I have coverage all the way to the tip of the tree (my coverage barely makes it…)

GrungeSnowCloseup

So, after I was done, I thought “there, I trimmed the tree!” Hahaha!

That leads me to other ideas that can be used on holiday cards with holiday image stamps: punch art. I am not going to get into that, however, since I am sure there are lots of good samples out there in blog-land. Just ask Mr. Google, and I’m sure you’ll find something that looks interesting. I touched on the simplest in other posts: circles as ornaments. Last year, I made a poinsettia from the ornament punch in the Merry Minis punch pack. You’ll find examples on the web of trees, santas, penguins, reindeer, snowmen, elves, etc. Have fun!

Leave a Reply

