More Ornaments

I didn’t forget my comment about showing you more non-Christmas images being used for the holidays.

I’ll show you two more ideas today, since they both tie into the ornament theme I started (was it last week already?).

Another idea for creating an ornament was posted by Jackie Topa months ago. I decided to try it out since I was going to have my heat tool out for other experiments.

BalloonOrnament

Stamp set: You’re Amazing

Ink: VersaMark

Paper: Whisper White, Cherry Cobbler, Gumball Green

Accessories: Whisper White notecards, Iridescent Ice embossing powder, Gold embossing powder, 1-3/8″ circle punch, Word window punch, Bird builder punch, Stampin’ dimensionals, Linen thread

As you can probably figure out, the look I was going for is an ornament hanging from a branch on a tree. I layered branches from the bird builder punch to try to look like an evergreen branch. Not sure if I succeeded or not.

To make the ornament, I embossed the balloon with Iridescent Ice embossing powder, for the sparkle, and the basket in gold (or silver or pewter) for the top part of the ornament. We end up using the balloon upside-down.

BalloonEmbossing

Punch out the balloon part with the 1-3/8″ circle punch. You won’t notice the part that flares down into the basket.

Cut out the basket and leave all of the strings attached. When you attach the basket to the “top” of the ornament, you’ll need all of the extra strings to have something to attach to the back of the ornament. Since I was gung-ho and cut too much off, I spliced the two together with half of a word window punch. If you look carefully, you’ll see the cut edge where the two meet, rather than being layered on top of each other.

I taped a piece of linen thread to the back, so there is a loop from which to hang the ornament.

For the second card, I took the idea from last week, but used a border stamp and embossing powder.

BorderOrnament

Stamp set: Creative Elements

Ink: Versamark

Paper: Whisper White, Cherry Cobbler

Accessories: 1-3/4″ circle punch, Whisper White notecards, Watercolor Wonder Designer washi tape (sneak peek!), Gold baker’s twine (sneak peek!), Stampin’ dimensionals

So, the idea here is to take any of your border stamps and stamp across the middle of your circle with VersaMark ink. Apply embossing powder or heat and stick with glitter. Instant ornament for your holiday card!

Did you notice the sneak peek products on this second card? I couldn’t resist… I can’t stand that we have all this new gold products coming out for the SPRING and I want to use them for the holidays! So not fair! Well, I get to use them, haha !

I used the Whisper White notecards for both cards because they are quick card bases, and help create clean and simple cards.

Have fun creating your own ornaments!

Leave a Reply

