Stamp a Card Ornament

I mentioned in my newsletter for December that I was looking at non-holiday stamps for making holiday cards. I have the sentiments, but did not have many current holiday images. I have since rounded out my collection, between Best of Snow, Endless Wishes photopolymer (sold out, boo hoo!), Festive Flurry, and Joyful Christmas.

In any case, I thought I’d share with you the ideas I had. There is still a little bit of time to make cards and send them!

This is one of the cards we made at my mom’s house in October.

BokehOrnamentStripes

Stamp set: Everything Eleanor

Ink: Midnight Muse, Illuminate Glimmer watermark refill, VersaMark, Silver Encore ink pad

Paper: Soft Sky, Whisper White, Midnight Muse

Accessories: Stylish Stripes textured impressions folder, Silver 1/8″ ribbon, Heat and stick powder, Silver glitter, Brayer, 1-3/4″ circle punch, Wooden pencil

We stamped the flourish from Everything Eleanor in VersaMark ink onto a circle of Midnight Muse. We then added Heat and Stick powder and Silver glitter to make the flourish silver and sparkly! We “hung” the ornament on the cardstock panel with a bit of the silver ribbon. Ties so nicely! (Although, I had to make the bows for them.)

You could reproduce this with any flourish stamp in your arsenal. You could also try this with a metallic embossing powder.

The background for the ornament used the Bokeh background tutorial from Splitcoast stampers. I thought it added a nice touch, especially since it makes it look like the ornament is hanging, somewhere. I wanted the ink to be a bit sparkly, so I mixed Midnight Muse reinker and Illuminate Glimmer reinker on a felt pad. You could just use the Midnight Muse pad directly; I think the shimmer from the Glimmer reinker was hardly noticeable.

The card base was embossed with the Stylish Stripes embossing folder, but inking the embossing folder first with the Silver metallic ink pad from the Holiday catalog. I think it makes the cardstock look foil-stamped! Worth the extra mess of inking the embossing folder.

HINT: use a brayer and make sure you clean up stray ink on the folder with a Q-tip before embossing.

We also cut an envelope liner, using part of the fancy foil-stamped sheet in the pack of Winter Frost Specialty DSP.

Leave a Reply

