A “Negative” Card

It really is a cheery card. It’s “negative”, because I used the negative portion of cardstock after die-cutting one of the words from the Expressions Thinlits dies. This card came out way cuter than the card that got the die cut word. So, this is the one that gets shared, of course.

I like how using up the “extras” sometimes makes for better cards. πŸ™‚

By the way, we had some stamping fun at my mom’s house yesterday. I was actually prototyping something for her workshop, in coming up with this card. We made slightly different cards, in case you were wondering. Maybe I’ll share them later. πŸ™‚

LoveNegativeButterfly

Stamps: Papillon Potpourri, Dictionary

Ink: StazOn Jet Black, Primrose Petals, Smoky Slate

Paper: Crumb Cake, Pink Pirouette, Basic Black, Raspberry Ripple, Whisper White

Accessories: Expressions Thinlits dies, Pink Pirouette 3/8″ taffeta ribbon, Adorning Accents textured impressions folders, Bitty Butterfly punch, Sponge dauber, Stampin’ dimensionals

Did you notice that I still managed to use something from the Holiday catalog? Doesn’t seem that way. But, I like that the Expressions thinlits dies can be used for more than around the holidays.

The butterfly on this card is one of many I stamped, colored, and punched with the very easy idea I shared earlier (put a spot of color in the center using a Sponge dauber).

I stamped Dictionary on a piece of Whisper White, so that there is a bit of texture showing through the cutouts. I used a Basic Black mat for a bit of contrast (on the dark side). The card base color was chosen to have contrast on the lighter side.

I embossed hearts on a Crumb Cake panel. I wanted to emboss directly on the card base, but the embossing folder didn’t fit in the Big Shot that way. I wanted Crumb Cake for the card base, but the embossed layer didn’t stand out as much as I wanted. I originally did a version with sponging around the edges of the embossed layer, but that didn’t match the rest of the card. I ended up putting a layer of Pink Pirouette between the embossed layer and the card base. This added enough color and separation. Really cute, actually!

My husband thought this card was great! He knows best, right? πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

