Happy Birthday Coffee Friend

I recently needed ANOTHER birthday card (will people STOP having birthdays?!? Yeah, I wish!!! We’d all stay 21 years old, right?). This one is for someone I work with, and we take a coffee break together most days that we are working. I don’t get coffee, but she does. So, I thought it would be perfect to get her a coffee gift card.

I saw a card on Dawn Griffith’s blog that made use of the Pop-n-Cuts base and I thought it was THE card design I wanted to use. (I did buy the base before I saw her card. I only bought the base, though, because there’s this treat box design I want to make, too… )

Dawn’s card also used the Perfect Blend stamp set. The sentiment works perfectly, but I didn’t have the stamp set yet. What’s a girl to do? MDS to the rescue, of course! The digital stamp set was recently released, so I lucked out.

PerfectBlendGiftCard

Stamp set: Perfect Blend (MDS download), Sassy Salutations (inside), Layered Labels (envelope)

Ink: Early Espresso (Classic ink and digital), Cherry Cobbler

Paper: Crumb Cake, Whisper White, Season of Style DSP Stack (Holiday catalog), Polka Dot Parade DSP, non-Stampin’ Up! white cardstock

Accessories: Pop-n-Cuts base, Envelope Punch Board, Season of Style Designer Washi Tape (Holiday catalog), Stampin’ dimensionals, Rhinestones Basic Jewels, Apothecary Accents framelits, Large oval punch

Pretty straightforward, right?

Here’s the inside (I got the gift card after I took this picture).

PerfectBlendGiftCardOpen

I think it’s awesome that the Season of Style DSP stack was meant for the Christmas holidays, but the designs can be used for generic occasions. Love the versatility (which means we use it up more!).

I didn’t leave borders around my DSP like Dawn did. I was going for a “clean lines and classic look”, rather than shabby chic. Instead, I used a 3-1/2 x 4-1/4 piece for the top flap, a 1 x 4-1/4 piece for the top of the pocket, and a 1-1/4 x 4-1/4 piece for the bottom of the pocket. I couldn’t tell you the size of the flag with the sentiment because I was just winging it at that point. 🙂 I used the same score lines on the base card: 1″, 3″, and 7-1/2″ from the straight end. I adhered the two end DSP pieces to the base cardstock before die-cutting. The middle piece was added after I scored the card base.

I’ll show you how I used MDS to print the different layers for the coffee cup. Like stamping in real life, you have to get the image on the three cardstock/papers you are going to use for layering. (And like all stamping projects, you don’t always stamp in the right spot on the first try. I had to print again.)

PerfectBlendGiftCardPrinting

I added three coffee cups and three sentiments to my 8-1/2 x 11 canvas in MDS. I printed them once so I knew where the images would print. I then placed my DSP and Crumb Cake cardstock in the appropriate spots, and printed on the opposite edge of the same cardstock (I only covered half the sheet with my project). I tacked the leading edges of the smaller pieces with a bit of painter’s tape. I then cut out the layers I needed and adhered them together.

I cut out the sentiment from the same sheet and added a motch to one end.

This card is a unique size, so how to get an envelope that would fit? Why, make it with my Envelope Punch Board, of course! (This is truly the first time I made an envelope with this board for a project. The practice to learn the mechanics of the board doesn’t count.) The card is 4-1/4 x 4-1/2, so I followed the measurements for a 4-1/2 x 4-1/2 card. It was perfect!

Here is the envelope:

PerfectBlendGiftCardEnvelope

Of course, I had to use some washi tape to decorate, especially since it coordinated with the DSP that was on  the card. Too cute! I also used a small strip to hold the envelope closed (I did add Tombow Mono Multi glue to adhere all but the top flap closed, though).

Here’s the sentiment on the envelope for you. I like how striking the stamping came out with my Early Espresso ink pad in the new firm foam ink pad style.

PerfectBlendGiftCardEnvelopeCloseup

I like the little bit of lace details around the sentiment. Plus, making the “for you” part in a different color ink makes it look nicer, right? And, no fancy birthday card (or envelope) is complete without a couple of rhinestones…

Leave a Reply

