What Did You Make?

Did you get to make anything on World Cardmaking Day? I managed to sneak in one card. I have to admit, though: most of the guts were already sitting on my table. I just had to die cut something and I could finish putting it all together.

Hey, but that counts, right?

GoldMerry_blog

Stamp set: none

Ink: Crumb Cake

Paper: Gumball Green, Crumb Cake, Gold Foil sheets (Holiday catalog), Season of Style DSP Stack (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Expressions Thinlits dies (Holiday catalog), Chevron border punch (Holiday catalog), Cherry Cobbler 1″ Stitched Edge Grosgrain ribbon (Holiday catalog), Pretty Print textured impressions folder (Holiday catalog), Multipurpose adhesive sheets

Oh, gee, I managed to throw in a lot of things from the Holiday catalog! Purely unintentional, I’m sure. 🙂

I used the Chevron border punch on one edge of my card front, overlapping one chevron. I’m not sure I can describe how I lined up the punch, because I wasn’t able to successfully repeat my “recipe”. Oh, well. All I can say is to try it on scrap cardstock before trying it on the “real stuff”.

I wanted a piece of DSP to show through the punched edge. I cut a strip from one of the patterns in the Season of Style DSP stack. I cut down the rest of the piece into a mat for a piece of Crumb Cake. I embossed the Crumb Cake cardstock and then inked the embossing a bit. I think I got carried away!

Do you like the shiny sentiment? I cut that out with a die! Oh, these are so fun to use, but a little bit tricky. I found that backing the cardstock or paper with Multipurpose adhesive makes the die cut easier to stick to your project. Also, keep the first protective paper that you remove from the Multipurpose adhesive sheet to expose the adhesive. Put that between your die and the cardstock/paper you will be cutting. This gives an extra cushion so that the die cut comes out of the die more easily (it prevents your die cut from being firmly wedged inside the die). Use a paper piercer to poke one end of the die cut out of the die, and carefully pull it out. Don’t just yank, especially with the foil sheets. They get mangled and bent completely out of shape (ask me how I know!).

I like how the script of the embossing folder coordinates with the script of the sentiment.

I took a shortcut with the bow on the card… I bet you can’t tell! I cut one piece of ribbon long enough to create the bow loops of the size I want. I taped the ends to each other end-to-end. I flattened my loop of ribbon so that the piece of tape is at the middle in the back (hidden). I then took another piece of ribbon and tied a single knot. If the ends are behind the loops, you get the pretty bow you see on my card. Easy!

Leave a Reply

