World Card Making Day

Today is World Cardmaking Day–the first Saturday of October. Yes, it’s a made up “holiday” for papercrafters around the world to participate in a shared event.

Who doesn’t love an excuse to sit down and make cards?

“I’m sorry honey. I can’t do the laundry or feed the kids right now. Don’t you know it’s World Cardmaking Day? Those (insert members of charity-of-choice here) need their cards!”

🙂

As for me, I’m scheduled to work. Sigh.

To get you in the mood, though, I took some time on my last day off to make these cards. These cards took about the time to do a load of laundry. Even though we said we didn’t have time for the laundry. 🙂

(And, don’t forget, if you make something, enter it into Stampin’ Up!’s contest. View yesterday’s post for more details… I hope I’ll have a chance to work on something when I get home from work.)

What I started with was items from the What to Washi Bundle (all four washi tape sets, a pack of notecards with envelopes, and the online class filled with ideas to use washi tape). I then grabbed a sentiment set, A Dozen Thoughts (wood mount), and a few other things.

A birthday card:

WashiTapeBirthdayCandles

The idea to use the wing of the Bird Builder punch is not new. However, I haven’t seen anyone use it with the Gold Foil sheets, yet. Shiny!

A “just because” card:

WashiTapeJustBecause

This is loosely based on one of the cards in the What to Washi Online class, but with a spin I saw on someone’s blog (I’ll have to hunt that one down…Patty Bennett’s project?). I swear I saw someone use washi tape in a step and put the hearts at the end, but the closest I can find (that I remember seeing) is Patty’s card.

Two “mini” cards:

WashiTapeMiniCards

I got this idea from the online class, too. You cut both the notecard and the envelope in half. I wasn’t sure how you are supposed to use the half envelope, so I tried both ways! You should be able to see in the picture… one I kept the flap but closed the newly-opened side with washi tape. The other I sealed the flap shut and used the open side to slide in my mini card.

I mentioned this before, but if you’re stamping onto washi tape, use StazOn ink for best results.

The sentiments in A Dozen Thoughts are compact, and work if you want to add a sentiment all in a line. The size is right for the notecards. What if you want something a little bigger to fill up more space? Well, how about Sassy Salutations (wood-mount)? They still fit on the notecards, but grab your attention more. Just stamp and add a strip (or two) of washi tape, and you have an instant card!

WashiTapeThinkingOfYou

As I’m showing you all of the easy cards I made, I realized that I could have jazzed them up a tad by pulling out my pack of rhinestones… well, you get the picture!

UPDATE ON THE RECRUITING SPECIAL:

Since I posted my newsletter, Stampin’ Up! clarified a cool little benefit to anyone who signs up to be a demonstrator using the “Join for $25” Starter Kit: If they have a workshop of $150 or more within the first 30 days of being a demonstrator, the new demonstrator will get to pick ANY stamp set from the catalog starting December 1. Isn’t that cool? Plus, the first order (demonstrator order or workshop) of $150 or more within the first 45 days gives you an extra 10% discount (income). Don’t forget, we also have extra hostess benefits for workshops (or orders) of $250 or more during the month of October. What a crazy time it would be for a new recruit!

As I was putting this post together, I noticed that the wood-mount version of A Dozen Thoughts is $26.95, a perfect choice for your $25 Starter Kit. Any questions? Contact me and I’ll be happy to answer.

Leave a Reply

