Nudged by Lending

The motivation to create and finish this card was the fact that I was lending out the Big Shot die used to create one of the elements. Nothing like not having something available to encourage you to use something, huh? (Kinda like traveling and pit stops…)

Of course, I had ideas simmering ever since I saw the sketch at Mojo Monday (sketch 307). I had both autumn- and winter-themed cards in mind. And, since I was lending the die, now was the time to create the autumn card!

SweaterMojo307

Stamp set: Petite Pairs, Wonderfall

Ink: Chocolate Chip, Soft Suede, Cajun Craze

Paper: Chocolate chip, Very Vanilla, Crumb Cake, Sweater Weather DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Autumn Accents Bigz die, Square Lattice textured impressions folder, Hexagon punch, Naturals buttons, Early Espresso baker’s twine, Stamp-a-ma-jig, Sponge daubers

Interestingly, the elements I chose say “autumn” and the DSP colors that I chose makes it feel cooler, almost “winter”. So, we really should have saved this for the end of autumn, rather than the beginning! 🙂

Regardless, I wasn’t sure about the layout at first. But, once it was finished, it gave me the warm-fuzzies. Don’t you love that buzz you get when you make a card you like? Better than coffee (tied with chocolate, though). 🙂

To stamp the acorn on the die cut, I used the Stamp-a-ma-jig on the die cut. Because it’s a Bigz die rather than a framelit, you have to do it this way. Or, if you’re adventurous, you can lay the die cut on the upside-down, inked stamp. That’s what some people do. I’m not adventurous.

I used the Hexagon punch to notch the flag under my sentiment. It’s a different angle than using a square punch and a great alternative. You can also use a pencil and ruler, but this is quick and easy.

Leave a Reply

