Flip for Halloween

I was inspired to make today’s card after looking at Mary Brown’s blog (stampercamper).

She included a tip to avoid putting adhesive for your DSP where the flip element cuts on the right hand side. It will still cut out properly, but if you put adhesive down strategically, then the DSP that you put down is also stuck down around the die cut. Clear as mud?

Actually, my card here doesn’t actually use her tip! (My previous flip card did, however.) The inspiration I got from her card (for this one) is the use of the DSP. I didn’t use it the same way, except for the small strip of black on the right hand side…

HalloweenFlip

Stamp set: Halloween Hello (clear-mount, Holiday catalog)

Ink: StazOn Jet Black, Illuminate watermark

Paper: Pumpkin Pie, Witches’ Brew DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Witches’ Brew Washi Tape (Holiday catalog), 1″ circle punch, Sponge dauber, Label Thinlits card set

Pretty quick and easy card to make. The thinlits set makes quick work of cutting the flip card (and I have made flip cards from just cutting and scoring…there’s a template on the right hand side to prove it!). There’s also a die to cut a layer for the flip element; that’s what I used to cut the Pumpkin Pie skull paper on the front. There are other fun shapes that you’ll see me use from time-to-time.

I wish the washi tape with the words was a bit wider. I made-do by adding two rows instead of one. I like how the word “Halloween” ended up strategically placed on the card! 🙂

I added two different strips of DSP, one on each side of the card. This helps frame the elements, so they all look contained.

I put the sentiment for my card on the inside and decorated with the witch from the same stamp set. She’s not just flying in the air, though:

HalloweenFlipOpen

See that? It looks like she’s flying in front of the moon!

I created the moon by making a mask with my 1″ circle punch. I put the mask down on the cardstock and sponged ink from the Illuminate ink pad. Shiny! and, just a little mysterious…

Of course, I added a line of bats in case you didn’t find the card spooky enough. 🙂

Leave a Reply

