A Happy Card

This is another card I made for Convention. This was for general swapping (or what I like to call disorganized swaps!). šŸ™‚

I took a card layout in an issue of CardMaker from last year, and put my spin on it.

HappyGingham

Stamp set: Yippee, Skippee (new!), Memorable Moments

Ink: Island Indigo, Strawberry Slush

Paper: Naturals White, Melon Mambo, Whisper White, Gingham Garden DSP

Accessories: Coastal Cabana stretch ruffle ribbon (new!), Delicate Designs textured impressions folder, Large Scallop edgelits, Labels collection framelits

A little bit over-the-top, but I couldn’t stop until all of these layers were in place. I think the original card I saw in the magazine also had an embellishment next to the sentiment layer. I think that would have been too much. Plus, I ran out of time! šŸ™‚

I like how the ruffled ribbon adds just a bit of color to the whole card. In case you’re wondering, I attached using Tombow Mono Multi. Pretty quick and easy, and the ribbon is stuck in place.

I have to mention about my experience embossing the lace border. I found that the cardstock will shift ever so slightly to one side as the folder rolled through my Big Shot. I tried a few things to try to keep it in place. Some didn’t work and some were just too fussy for my taste (I had limited time, baby!) I finally decided to just roll with the shifting. Instead of trying to secure things, I anticipated the shift and placed my cardstock in the folder to compensate for the shift. So, if one end moves to the left consistently, just place a little bit over to the RIGHT first. This worked out great. And, less frustrating!

If you look, the whole card has a bit of a sewing theme to it: cross-stitch patterns in the Daffodil Delight piece, gingham on the bottom Melon Mambo piece, stitching on the sentiment panel, lace on the Whisper White strip, and the Coastal Cabana ribbon.Ā  Isn’t that cool? I suppose that’s one reason for using one pack of DSP for all of your DSP on a single card.

Leave a Reply

