All That Glitters

In the August newsletter (yesterday), I promised another card, as well as tidbits on using glitter.

It’s been a long time since I played with glitter. I have issues, the biggest of which is it doesn’t stick well to your project, just to you and everything else.

Well, of course, once Stampin’ Up! discontinued all but Dazzling Diamonds, I had an urge to play with glitter. Go figure, right? I stuck with Dazzling Details… until the new Holiday Catalog.

There are some cool projects in the Holiday Catalog using glitter that made me say “I can do that!” And, hopefully you will say that, too, after you see what I’ve done.

First, the second project with glitter.

(Apologies, my camera was having fits … it didn’t want to focus on what I was making. Maybe it doesn’t like glitter either!)

DontForgetCandy

Stamp set: Halloween Hello (Holiday Catalog), Remember rotary stamp, Designer Typeset (photopolymer)

Ink: VersaMark, Pumpkin Pie, Basic Black

Paper: Basic Gray, Basic Black, Perfect Plum, Whisper White, Witches Brew DSP (Holiday catalog)

Accessories: Orange ultrafine glitter (Holiday Catalog), Heat and Stick powder, Hexagon punch, Stampin’ dimensionals, Heat tool

I used Heat and Stick powder to attach (and hold) the glitter to my project. Heat and Stick powder requires a two-step process: heat until tacky, then heat to set. You apply the glitter in-between the two steps. Previously, it was hard for me to know when the powder was just heated. I guess I should have played more. I just had an epiphany this week, however: If you use it on DARK cardstock, you can tell right away when it just melts. See:

Before heat:

HeatStickBefore

After heat:

HeatStickAfter

Now we’re in business. It doesn’t take much for it to melt. Just liberally apply your glitter, then heat again. You may or may not see the glitter “jump”, which means it’s heat-set.

So, what was I saying about tips? Here’s what I discovered with just these two cards:

  • Heat and Stick powder is easier to use on dark cardstock; it’s easier to see when the powder is melted.
  • Liberally apply glitter–pour a little on each spot. This will make the glitter seem lush. I noticed that, on another sample, the glitter on one end wasn’t as thick than the rest of the card. I think it’s because I dumped glitter on one end, and just let the glitter fall to the other side. This left me with uneven coverage. Make sense? Here’s a picture:

NotEnoughGlitter

  • After heat-setting, use a brush to get rid of extra glitter. Brush off (to the edge of) the project, rather than in circles.
  • Use a Post-it to grab any stray glitter either on your project or on your desk. I use baby wipes to do bulk cleaning (hands and table), and I use large coffee filters to catch glitter as I pour. I wash my hands before moving onto anything else.

Do you think you could manage glitter now? Go forth and try it!

Leave a Reply

