Rounded Corners

I mentioned in my previous post that I was on a kick to round corners on my cards recently. So, the next swap card I made for Convention that I’ll share with you is the one with rounded corners.

This is a variation of a card I had made as a “thank you” to customers… during Sale-a-Bration? Someone will have to remind me because I didn’t seem to keep track of that one!

ThinkingOfYouEclecticButterfly

Stamp set: Sassy Salutations, Papillon Potpourri

Ink: Midnight Muse, Calypso Coral

Paper: Smoky Slate textured cardstock (Holiday catalog sneak peek), Whisper White, Vellum cardstock, Epic Day This and That DSP

Accessories; Elegant Butterfly punch, Corner rounder punch, Very Vintage Designer buttons, Rhinestones Basic Jewels, White baker’s twine, Natural trim, Iridescent Ice embossing powder, Glue dots

The original card I made used the oh-so-fabulous flower trim that was not carried over. 😦 It took me a while to come up with an alternative embellishment, and I think this worked out. What do you think? Oh, and just so you know… on the cards I made to swap, I moved the sentiment over just a tad, so that the button fit right into the curved space below “you” in the sentiment. I think it was pretty spiffy.

The trim is held down in two spots on the front of the card with Glue Dots: one at the tail, and one approximately where I put the button. (Oh, and on the back, too.) I originally put a Glue Dot only at the tail, and the trim needed some support where the button went.

The butterfly was just the accent that was needed to finish the card. The upper left corner was really too bare without it. I had decided to stamp and emboss on vellum because the translucent nature of vellum gave it a “lightness” and playfulness that added to the card. To make the butterfly, I stamped an image on vellum with classic ink. Because ink does not dry quickly on vellum, I was able to sprinkle on some Iridescent Ice embossing powder and zap it with my heat tool. I punched it out and attached to the card with a rolled up Glue Dot. Snazzy, huh? I’m glad that there was a matching punch for this butterfly. About 4 years ago, I did something similar, but had to fussy-cut the butterfly. Using scissors has started to hurt my hands in the past year or so, so I have to limit how much fussy-cutting I do. 😦

I just remembered… I sent a version of this card to a friend of mine, using some of the retired flower trim instead of the button. (I had to save the buttons for my swaps. Really.) Hopefully she got it by now! I sent it during Convention, to be part of the effort to set a World Record. We did it. Here is a pic of the announcement from the Stampin’ Up! Facebook page.

Leave a Reply

