Ready for Swaps?

I thought I should share what I made to swap at Convention. Mostly, because that’s really all I’ve got to share at the moment!

I’m hoping that I finish unpacking boxes soon, so I can get back to spending time at my stamping table.

I usually share some quirky trivia about my swaps. Nothing really exciting this year, but here goes:

  • I really loved die cuts this year: 3 different sets of Framelits used on 4 different cards, one Edgelits, and 1 Bigz die. A total of 203 die-cuts (16 of them were cut with two frames at the same time…more on that when I post that card). All but one card had something die-cut on it. (Edited to add: I actually had 4 sets of Framelits on the 4 different cards. Probably should have cataloged the supplies for all of my cards, first! That brings the total of die cuts to 251!)
  • Dimensionals used: 274. I made it easy to count by starting with a new package. 🙂
  • Different colors used: 19. Basic Black, Basic Gray, Smoky Slate, Real Red, Cherry Cobbler, Daffodil Delight, Island Indigo, Gumball Green, Pool Party, Crisp Canteloupe, Bermuda Bay, Coastal Cabana, Midnight Muse, Calypso Coral, Whisper White/Naturals White, Melon Mambo, Strawberry Slush, Soft Sky, Crumb Cake

I’ll start with the first swap of this trip. It was for 3×3 cards, which some people call Love Notes. I was a little bit stressed out because I had a tour of the Riverton Home Office scheduled for just over 2 hours before we were to check in for this swap, and the lines for the busses were CRAZY! I basically had 20 minutes to run through the Home Office before standing in yet another line to get back to the convention center. No problems, though, because Stampin’ Up! had a steady stream of busses leaving. Basically, as fast as busses were arriving, we got picked up to go back. I managed a quick nap on the way over, too. 🙂
Birthday3x3

Stamp set: Petite Pairs, A Fitting Occasion

Ink: Bermuda Bay, Coastal Cabana

Paper: Crisp Canteloupe, Whisper White, Coastal Cabana, Silver Glimmer, Birthday Basics DSP

Accessories: Tasteful Trim Bigz XL die, 7/8″ scallop circle punch, 3/4″ circle punch, corner rounder punch

Pretty straightforward, right? Before Convention, I was in a mood to use rounded corners on my cards. (Hint, you’ll see another one of these in another post.) So, I knew what I wanted to do with this card, even before I had all the supplies in hand. I’m happy to say that the only change I made from what I envisioned is the color of the ric-rac. I originally made it Bermuda Bay, but for some reason, a) it had too much contrast with the rest of the card, and b) despite that, it didn’t stand out as much. Funny, adding the Silver Glimmer paper gave it sparkle to “spice” up the card, yet was toned down enough that everything fit together. I think that because my punched image was supposed to be the accent, that using a Bermuda Bay strip distracted from it.

Fun. These types of cards are a quick and easy way of adding a note to a tote, lunch box, etc.

Leave a Reply

