Happy Birthday

Oh, but Happy Memorial Day, first!

I know two people with back-to-back birthdays at this time of year. So, I know I have to make two cards at about the same time. I went to the Mojo Monday site last week, and was quickly inspired to make this card, twice! It’s based on Mojo Monday sketch 294. Since I’m more current than usual, I linked to the sketch picture, rather than the post since they don’t have the link to the previous week’s post right away… (Edited to add: here is the link to the sketch 294 blog post.)

Mojo294Birthday

Stamp set: Sassy Salutations

Ink: Calypso Coral, Soft Suede marker

Paper: So Saffron, Soft Suede, Whisper White, Tea for Two DSP (Spring catalog)

Accessories: Baja Breeze seam binding (retiring), Vintage trinkets, Stampin’ dimensionals

(Hopefully, one of the recipients will see this AFTER she gets her package in the mail. The other is local and doesn’t read my blog anyway, so I’m safe there!)

For the border on the bottom of the sketch, I originally thought of cutting the chevron border from the DSP and putting it on another pattern. It looked super WEIRD. But, if I used the particular sheet as-is, it worked much better. So, my take on the border was to use DSP that had the border included. I thought I was quite clever. 🙂

For the panel with the stamped greeting, I decided to leave the corners intact, rather than rounding them as seen in the sketch. To coordinate with the DSP pattern on the bottom of the card, I decided to add faux stitching around the panel. You know, I never liked turning corners while top-stitching in real sewing, because I always second-guessed about when to turn. It seemed worse with faux stitching, I swear! I can’t make my “stitching” even, so I don’t really know where I’ll end up at the end. Oh, well, pracitice just like everything else, right?

Also to keep in-theme, I used the button brads from the Vintage Trinkets for my row of dots. I only included two (rather than the three in the sketch) since there wasn’t enough space. Well, I could have squished them in there, but I thought three wouldn’t work.

I mentioned I had to make two cards, right? Well, I thought the seam binding would be the ideal ribbon to use for this card. And, wouldn’t you know, I happened to have JUST ENOUGH of this color left to make two cards. Eek. I thought I had more! Well, that’s always a happy situation for retiring items, right? Just enough for what you want to make, but no left over for when it’s no longer current?

At least my currently-favorite sentiment set, Sassy Salutations, will be around for at least one more year!

Leave a Reply

