Embellishments and Embossing

Again, here’s a card with no stamping. This time, I pulled together random bits from different DSP and the Artisan Embellishment kit, and other things. Not sure if I had a theme in my head going into this project. I think I was going with “sewing” or “notions”, but I’m sure I threw in other things that don’t really fit. 🙂

LoveEmbellishments

Stamp set: none

Ink: Primrose Petals

Paper: Crumb Cake, Early Espresso, Tea for Two DSP (Spring catalog), More Amore Specialty DSP (Spring catalog)

Accessories: Artisan embellishment kit (Spring catalog), Flower Trim (Spring catalog), Natural trim (Spring catalog), Needlepoint Border embossing folders (Spring catalog), Large Pearl Basic Jewels, 1″ square punch

I did use some ink on this project though, did you notice? I sponged some Primrose Petals ink on the (highly popular) Flower Trim. I just love this item, and so did other people because it was on backorder for such a long time. I love it so much that I bought extra packs of it to HOARD because this is another product that will not be carrying over to the new catalog (coming soon!). Do I need more? I have until June 3 to decide (hopefully it doesn’t sell out sooner…)

I love the lace peeking out on the left of the card. Since I only needed that part of the lace (it’s over an inch wide, I think), I cut it down the middle lengthwise. See, now I can have a border on another project, too, and stretch my supplies. Why hide it when it can be used elsewhere? 🙂

I made my strip border by punching different patterns using the 1″ square punch, then lining them up on a 1-1/4″ contrast cardstock strip. I spent so much time finding the “perfect” order, and look: you can only see the patterns on the ends! Just have to sigh and move on, I guess.

Did you see the little detail I put along the edges of the DSP strip? I embossed with the cross-stitch border embossing folder! The cardstock strip was just wide enough that I was able to emboss twice and the first pattern wasn’t covered by the embossing folder. Phew! Just adds to the sewing theme, doesn’t it? I wanted to find a use for the embossing folder than just a border on the background/card base.

LoveEmbellishmentsCloseup

The heart is a piece I cut out from the More Amore specialty DSP. You get two sheets with laser-cut heart doilies. I think each sheet has 16 hearts. If you don’t want Primrose Petals or Real Red hearts, you can just turn them over and use as-is (white) or color with your favorite color. A bit tedious to cut apart, but worth it.

Leave a Reply

