Hello, No Stamping!

This card has no stamping, but I think it turned out cute. I made use of a row of birdies in the Birds of a Feather DSP as my focal point.

I also used the Clouds embossing folder as the background. This is one cute product that *shock* did NOT make it to the upcoming catalog. Usually Big Shot items carry over, but sadly, not this one.

SO MAKE SURE YOU PICK ONE UP BEFORE IT’S GONE! (that would be June 3, by the way)

BirdsOfFeatherClouds

Stamp set: none

Ink: none

Paper: Crumb Cake, Baja Breeze (retiring), Birds of a Feather DSP (retiring)

Accessories: Clouds embossing folder (Spring catalog), Baja Breeze seam binding (retiring), Stampin’ dimensionals

I really wanted to use the Designer Typeset photopolymer stamps to have one of the birds say something. But, it looked a little goofy, so left it off. Still works as an all-purpose card…

As I mentioned, I used the Clouds embossing folder as the background, to show that the birds are in the air. Not sure that they are that far up, but it gets the point across, right? I also used the embossed cardstock “backwards”. Usually I put the bumps on the top surface of the project. In this case, I wanted the design as indentations. Makes it look like piercing. (And, why did it not carry over??? sniff)

Do you like the crinkly ribbon? That’s one thing really cool about using seam binding. I took a piece WAY longer than I thought I needed (probably about 18 inches). Wet it, wad it up, and squeeze out as much water as you can (put in a paper towel if you need to, and squeeze). Leave the seam binding all wadded up until it dries. You could carefully use a heat tool to speed this up, but I let mine air dry. When it’s done, the seam binding is crinkly. I originally was going to tie a bow, but with the wrinkles, it was out of control. So, I stuck with my usual knot. Cool effect.

Leave a Reply

