In Colors For Sherbet

Yes, the first time I saw what our new 2013-2015 In Colors will be, I immediately thought of sherbet. In a way, that’s good, because you would think all of the colors would work well together. Right? Absolutely. Plus, when you hear what the names are, you will definitely get hungry!

I’m still thinking of how to combine them with all of the other colors we have (and still wrap my brain around the Color Refresh).

In the meantime, I will show you the card that I wanted to make based on how I felt about the colors.

InColorIceCream

Stamp set: Sweets for the Sweet

Ink: Strawberry Slush, VersaMarker (retired)

Paper: Pool Party, Calypso Coral, So Saffron, Baked Brown Sugar (new), Coastal Cabana (new), Crisp Canteloupe (new), Pistachio Pudding (new), Strawberry Slush (new)

Accessories: Perfect Polka Dots embossing folder, Square Lattice embossing folder, Petite Pennants builder punch, Cupcake builder punch, White stitched grosgrain ribbon, Artisan label punch (sneak peek), Early Espresso embossing powder, Stampin’ dimensionals

EEEEEE!

I punched out a pennant in Baked Brown Suger (yum!) and embossed it in the Square Lattice embossing folder to make it look like a sugar cone. Doesn’t that come out awesome?!?

I punched a cupcake top from the rest of the In Colors (in order from bottom: Coastal Cabana, Pistachio Pudding, Crisp Canteloupe, Strawberry Slush). I stacked them “randomly” to create the scoops of sherbet.

I wanted some chocolate syrup on the top scoop, so I embossed with a little bit of Early Espresso embossing powder. I have to confess: I sorely miss the VersaMarker for this type of application, and that is what I used. I really tried with a blender pen first, as was suggested by Bonnie Thurber the Convention after it retired (was that last year?). It doesn’t stay wet enough long enough to keep the embossing powder in place before I can melt it. The VersaMarker really does work better.

I embossed a second layer over the first because I couldn’t get a smooth layer the first time… and you KNOW that chocolate sauce has to be a thick, smooth layer! 🙂

I added another punched piece on the cone — it’s the candle flame from the cupcake builder punch, but I used it to be a drip from the bottom scoop. It took so long to put the cone together that the bottom scoop is starting to melt! 🙂

I embossed the So Saffron piece with polka dots, both to be playful and to add a bit of detail to the background.

On my mailing list? I have another card I put together showcasing all of the new In Colors, so look for it in the mail later this month! (And, I’ll show that card once the new catalog goes live.)

Leave a Reply

